Hagerstown Suns to hold 12 fireworks displays in 2011

January 26, 2011|By KATE S. ALEXANDER |

The Hagerstown City Council Tuesday gave thumbs up to the Hagerstown Suns to hold 12 fireworks displays at Municipal Stadium in 2011.  

The Suns minor league baseball team earlier this month provided the council with a list of 13 dates for fireworks shows, one of which had yet to be determined.

The council approved the 12 confirmed dates during its regular meeting on Tuesday.

Hagerstown's lease for the stadium requires the Suns to notify neighbors of the fireworks schedule, according to city documents.

The fireworks schedule will stretch between April and September on the following dates:

  • Friday, April 15
  • Friday, April 22
  • Friday, May 6
  • Friday, May 27
  • Friday, June 3
  • Friday, June 17
  • Friday, July 1
  • Sunday, July 3
  • Friday, July 8
  • Friday, July 22
  • Friday, Aug. 5
  • Friday, Sept. 2

Also proposed was a display for the Volvo 50th Anniversary Celebration, but that date has yet to be determined, Suns General Manager Bill Farley said previously.

Farley said the Suns no longer will discharge the fireworks from the stadium's parking lot, but will set them off from a trailer that will be wheeled onto the field.

The Herald-Mail Articles