Snow Emergency Plan in effect for Washington and Frederick counties

January 11, 2011

Maryland State Police at Hagerstown Barrack have advised that the Snow Emergency Plan for Washington County was put into effect Tuesday at 6 p.m.

The Maryland State Police at Frederick Barrack “B” report that due to current weather and road

conditions, the Snow Emergency Plan for Frederick County was implemented Tuesday at 6:35 p.m.

The following highways have been designated as Snow Emergency Routes in Frederick County:

U.S. Route 15
U.S. Route 15 (Business)
U.S. Route 40
U.S. Route 40 (Alternate)
U.S. Route 340
MD Route 17
MD Route 26
MD Route 27
MD Route 28
MD Route 31
MD Route 75
MD Route 76
MD Route 79
MD Route 80
MD Route 85
MD Route 140
MD Route 144FA
MD Route 180
MD Route 194
Interstate  70
Interstate  270

Once the Snow Emergency Plan has been placed in effect, Maryland Law requires motorists to operate vehicles that are equipped with snow tires as designated by the manufacturer or equipped with chains.  Studded tires are allowed from Nov. 1 through March 31.


During the declaration of a snow emergency, a person may not park a vehicle on any highway designated as a snow emergency route.

The Herald-Mail Articles