Washington Co. delegates get committee assignments

December 30, 2010|By ANDREW SCHOTZ |

Washington County will be represented on four of the six main House of Delegates committees in Annapolis in 2011.

Michael Hough, a Republican elected to the Subdistrict 3B seat in November, has been assigned to the Appropriations Committee.

Del.-elect Neil Parrott, a Republican in Subdistrict 2B, will be on the Judiciary Committee.

New committee assignments for the 2011 session of the General Assembly were announced Wednesday by House Speaker Michael E. Busch, D-Anne Arundel.

A returning local lawmaker — Republican Del. Andrew A. Serafini in Subdistrict 2A — is switching from the Environmental Matters Committee back to the Ways and Means Committee, where he was when he was appointed in 2008.

Del. LeRoy E. Myers Jr., R-Washington/Allegany, also serves on the Ways and Means Committee.

Del. John P. Donoghue, D-Washington, will remain on the Health and Government Operations Committee.

Two legislative committees — Appropriations in the House and Budget and Taxation in the Senate — are where the state budget is shaped.

This year, the legislature will be wrestling with a budget deficit estimated at $1.6 billion when the 90-day session convenes on Jan. 12.

In a news release, Hough said: “As a freshman delegate, I am very pleased to be appointed to this important committee. I look forward to the opportunity to balance our state’s budget by cutting wasteful government spending. I am honored that Speaker Mike Busch assigned me to this prestigious committee.”

Hough said that he expects to work on the deficits in both the state’s pension system and its budget.

“One of my priorities is to make sure that Frederick and Washington Counties get our fair share in the state budget,” Hough said in the news release.

Subdistrict 3B is mostly in Frederick County, but also covers a small portion of Washington County.

State Senate committee assignments were announced in early December.

Sen. George C. Edwards, R-Garrett/Allegany/Washington, will remain on the Budget and Taxation Committee.

Sen.-elect Christopher B. Shank, R-Washington, will be on the Judicial Proceedings Committee.

Shank defeated Sen. Donald F. Munson, R-Washington, who has been on the Budget and Taxation Committee for nearly 20 years.

The Washington County delegation’s other new senator-elect, Democrat Ronald N. Young, will be on the Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee.

Young defeated Republican Alex X. Mooney, R-Frederick/Washington, who served on the Judicial Proceedings Committee.

The Herald-Mail Articles