State senators get committee assignments

December 07, 2010|By ANDREW SCHOTZ |

HAGERSTOWN — Washington County will only have one vote on the state Senate’s powerful Budget and Taxation Committee in the coming year instead of two.

However, the county will be represented on three of the Senate’s four standing committees, up from two this year.

Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr. announced the Senate's committee assignments on Friday.

Sen.-elect Christopher B. Shank has been assigned to the Judicial Proceedings Committee.

In the House, Shank, a Republican, sat on the Judiciary Committee for six years before he was switched to the Ways and Means Committee in 2009.

In the Senate, Shank is replacing Republican Donald F. Munson, who he defeated in a primary and a general election. But he is not taking Munson’s seat on the Budget and Taxation Committee.


Miller has trimmed the committee from 15 members to 13 members.

Washington County still will be represented on the committee by Sen. George C. Edwards, R-Garrett/Allegany/Washington.

Sen. Alex X. Mooney, R-Frederick/Washington, has been on the Judicial Proceedings Committee since 2003, but he lost in last month’s election to Democrat Ronald N. Young.

Young, Washington County’s third senator, will be on the Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee.

Each committee specializes in certain types of bills or topics.

Budget and Taxation, as the name suggests, looks largely at budget, taxation and revenue issues.

Education, Health and Environmental Affairs reviews bills related to agriculture, land preservation, business licensing, education, elections, energy and more.

Judicial Proceedings oversees bills on corrections, criminal and civil laws, public safety, real property and more.

Alexandra Hughes, a spokeswoman for House Speaker Michael E. Busch, wrote in an e-mail on Monday that House committee assignments probably will be announced at the end of the month.

Two of Washington County’s five delegates for the coming legislative session — Republicans Neil Parrott and Michael Hough — are newly elected. Del. LeRoy E. Myers Jr., R-Washington/Allegany, has been on the Ways and Means Committee since last year.

Del. Andrew A. Serafini, R-Washington, has been on the Environmental Matters Committee since last year.

Del. John P. Donoghue, D-Washington, has served on the Health and Government Operations Committee since 2003.

The Herald-Mail Articles