Scoreboard set to liking of Lampard

September 12, 2010|By TIM KOELBLE
  • Brian Crabtree putts on the 13th green during Sunday's Coors Light Championship at Black Rock.
Colleen McGrath/Staff Photographer,

Ken Lampard likes to know where he stands on the leaderboard at all times.

At the end of the 4th Annual Coors Light Championship at Black Rock Golf Course on Sunday, he had nary a competitor in front of him to worry about.

The veteran Hagerstown golfer won his second Coors title in three years with a steady 1-under par 71, which matched Saturday's first round and allowed him to post a 2-under 142 for a one-shot victory over Brian Crabtree and Steve Caron.

"It was a fight to get it done," said Lampard. "I always want to know the scoreboard. I didn't think a 71 would be good enough to win."

The fight in Lampard was never more evident on the uphill, 500-yard par 5 16th hole.

Crabtree drained an 8-foot putt for eagle as Lampard watched to climb into a tie at 1-under -- temporarily.

Lampard reached birdie range and knocked down a 10-footer to go to 2-under, a lead he never relinquished.


"I was pumped to get (my birdie) after Brian's eagle," said Lampard. "I had to answer with a birdie."

Both players recorded a par on the par-3 17th and came to 18. As they were teeing off, Caron posted his 1-under in the clubhouse and awaited a possible playoff.

Lampard was equal to the task with a drive in the left fairway and iron to the front center of the 18th green.

He lagged a 30-foot putt beautifully to only need a tap-in for the victory after Crabtree's chip from off the green just missed holing out.

"I only wanted to cozy that putt up close," said Lampard, who specializes in an effective short game.

Crabtree and Lampard, both Beaver Creek Country Club members, have played many golf holes together, and would probably attest to the fact that neither has seen Crabtree go through a putting stretch on the back nine that hurt his chances dearly.

He three-putted the 13th for a double-bogey 6 and then bogeyed the 14th hole to allow three shots to go out the window.

"That was two stupid holes," said Crabtree. "I still had a chance after the eagle but needed one birdie to have a chance."

First-round leader Chris Taylor fell off the pace set by his first-round 68 with a 76 on Sunday to finish fourth.

Alan Moore (157) won the First Flight. Vern Knable and Don Tapley (162) were co-winners in the Second flight and Jim Grumbine (168) won the Third Flight.

Coors Light Championship

At Black Rock Golf Course

Yardage: 6,500 par 72

Championship Flight

Ken Lampard 71-71--142

Brian Crabtree 69-74--143

Steve Caron 72-71--143

Chris Taylor 68-76--144

Kevin Reiber 71-74--145

Chuck Thatcher 74-71--145

Andrew Duff 72-75--147

Randy Barnes 74-74--148

Greg Henry 76-73--149

Tim Doreen 73-77--150

Keith Shindle 73-77--150

David Boggs 73-77--150

Ty Bordner 72-80--152

Ken Winfield 78-74--152

Dave Hull 74-79--153

Dick Roulette 73-81--154

Carl Childers 78-76--154

Denny Stoner 81-74--155

Roy Lorshbaugh 74-82--156

Jason Fauble 78-79--157

Jason Stevens 77-80--157

Brandon Hendrickson 76-82--158

Greg Klus 78-80--158

Todd Parks 80-79--159

Dylan Emmett 78-81--159

Ian Elkin 81-78--159

Jim Connolly 76-84--160

Kerry Rossfeld 78-82--160

Tracy Piper 77-84--161

Tony Wagaman 78-84--162

Chris Mullen 81-81--162

Brett Lauer 82-82--164

Mike McCusker 82-83--165

Mike Metz 87-80--167

Henry Lanehart 79-90--169

Dean Hamburg 77-wd

First flight

Alan Moore 82-75--157

Michael Kauffman 79-79--158

Mike Starliper 79-81--160

John Lipscomb 81-79--160

Christian Grosh 81-80--161

Ron Pike 80-81--161

John Moller 80-82--162

Chris Hafner 81-81--162

Brad Weaver 81-83--164

Jason Hettenhouser 83-81--164

Michael Shirk 83-81--164

Andy Gossard 84-81--165

Bob Alton 84-83--167

Rich Rostek 82-87--169

Josh Knable 82-91--173

Bill Gawler 84-90--174

Second flight

Vern Knable 85-77--162

Don Tapley 86-76--162

Rob Turano 85-80--165

Todd Hull 89-76--165

Denny Lowry 85-83--168

Bruce Murfin 89-79--168

Art Cline 87-84--171

Mark Hershman 88-84--172

Tyler Brown 87-86--173

Jeff Taylor 85-88--173

Matt Hershman 89-85--174

Scot Drury 88-87--175

Wayne Rowlend 89-100--189

Third flight

Jim Grumbine 90-78--168

Greg Foster 90-83--173

Don Grabill 90-84--174

Jeff Hickey 93-83--176

Ryan Crabtree 94-86--180

Soctt Landis 94-86--180

Richard Fournier 92-89--181

Steve Crabtree 90-98--188

Scott Hahn 93-95--188

Greg Stuller 98-90--188

Dave Elliott 94-95--189

Troy Huntzberry 95-95--190

Bunky Guessford 96-96--192

Carl Cline 97-102--199

Darren Greaves 98-101--199

Alex Wiedel 105-98--203

Martin Kutyka 101-wd

Ashley Kloos 110-wd

The Herald-Mail Articles