Md. voters head to polls Tuesday for primary election

September 11, 2010|From staff reports

Washington County Board of Education

No matter what the outcome of Tuesday's primary election, the Washington County Board of Education will have at least two new members this December as two incumbents are not running for re-election.

Washington County voters will narrow down a field of 11 candidates for three school board seats to six candidates in Tuesday's primary election.

The seven-member board deals with issues such as contracts with its employee bargaining units and the schools superintendent, decisions regarding future school construction and renovation projects, and curriculum opportunities for students.

Board members also approve the school system's budgets, with several tough financial years anticipated.

Only one incumbent is running for re-election, Paul W. Bailey.

The other two incumbents whose seats are up this year are Ruth Anne Callaham and William Staley.

Callaham is running for a seat on the Washington County Commissioners. Staley decided not to run for re-election, saying he has health issues and is caring for older family members.


The other 10 candidates are Michael Joe Boyce, Shawn M. Bryce, Jacqueline Fischer, Dottie Gruhler, Karen J. Harshman, Wayne M. Kretzer Jr., Francis X. Murray III, Gary E. Nally, James W. Staley and Russell Williams.

The six candidates with the most votes from Tuesday's primary will advance to the Nov. 2 general election.

The school board race is nonpartisan. No matter what political party voters belong to, they get to choose from among all 11 candidates when they vote for up to three candidates in the primary.

Washington County Commissioners

Washington County's five-member Board of County Commissioners will have at least two new members next term.

Incumbents John F. Barr, Terry Baker and Kristin B. Aleshire are running for re-election, but the other two commissioners, James F. Kercheval and William J. Wivell, are not. Kercheval will become executive director of the Greater Hagerstown Committee and Wivell is running for state delegate.

Barr, Baker and Aleshire are among 14 candidates running for the five seats.

The Washington County Commissioners meet weekly on Tuesdays. They approve the county's budget, set tax rates, schedule and sign off on capital projects such as road and school improvements, and approve county ordinances, among many other responsibilities.

Aleshire is the only Democrat in the race. Another candidate, Joe Lane, is running in the Green Party. The other 12 candidates are Republicans.

The Republican candidates will be narrowed to five in Tuesday's primary election. Those five then will join Aleshire and Lane in the Nov. 2 general election.

The Republican candidates are Baker, Barr, Ruth Anne Callaham, Jeff Cline, Walter C. Frazee, Charlie Henson, Bill McKinley, John "Jack" Miller, John Munson, Kevin S. Simmers, Nick G. Vindivich Jr. and Robin Lynn Wivell.

Robin Lynn Wivell is the wife of incumbent William J. Wivell.

The commissioners are paid $30,000 per year and the commissioners president is paid $33,000 per year.

The commissioners candidate who receives the most votes in the general election traditionally becomes the commissioners president.

State senators, delegates

Of the eight seats in the Washington County delegation in Annapolis, only one definitely will stay the same this year.

State Sen. George C. Edwards, R-Garrett/Allegany/Washington, has no competition in Senate District 1 and is headed toward a second term after six terms as a delegate.

One seat definitely will change. House of Delegates Subdistrict 2B is open because Del. Christopher B. Shank, nearing the end of his third term, is running for state Senate instead.

Republicans Neil Parrott and Ted Brennan are competing in 2B on Tuesday for the right to face Democrat Brien J. Poffenberger in the Nov. 2 general election.

For the other six seats, incumbents are running opposed in a primary or in the general election.

o In Senate District 2, incumbent Donald F. Munson and Shank are squaring off in a Republican primary. There is no Democratic candidate.

o In Senate District 3, state Sen. Alex X. Mooney is unopposed on the Republican side. Democrats Don DeArmon and Ronald N. Young are facing off in Tuesday's primary.

o In House of Delegates Subdistrict 1C, Del. LeRoy E. Myers Jr., a Republican, is facing Democrat Ronald Lohr.

o In House of Delegates Subdistrict 2A, Del. Andrew A. Serafini is running against William J. Wivell and Denny Stouffer in a GOP primary. Neil Becker is the only Democratic candidate.

o In House of Delegates Subdistrict 2C, Del. John P. Donoghue, a Democrat, is challenged by Republican Cort Meinelschmidt.

o In House of Delegates Subdistrict 3B, Del. Charles A. Jenkins is opposed by Michael Hough in a GOP primary. The lone Democrat is Paul Gilligan.

Delegates and senators serve four-year terms and are paid $43,000 per year.

Polling places

The following is a list of polling places in Washington County. The number on the left refers to the precinct.

District 1C

The Herald-Mail Articles