Hill makes name for himself

September 05, 2010|By ANDREW MASON
  • Clear Spring's Jason Hill (39) heads to the finish line ahead of Williamsport's Evan Hardy, left, to win the small school boys race at the Interstate Classic in Clear Spring on Saturday.
By Kevin G. Gilbert, Staff Photographer

CLEAR SPRING -- Jason Hill?

"Now there are a million people asking, 'Who's that kid?'" Clear Spring cross country coach Jaime Mason said Saturday morning at the season-opening Interstate Classic.

Hill, a Clear Spring senior competing in the first cross country race of his life, stunned the field of 76 runners in the small-school boys race. He covered the Blazers' 3-mile course in 16 minutes, 55 seconds for the victory.

Williamsport's Evan Hardy and Boonsboro's Evan Moser -- who were predicted to turn most local races into two-man shows this fall -- had to settle for second and third, Hardy in 17:04 and Moser in 17:25.

"I trained really hard over the summer," said Hill, who ran track for the first time last school year, but never had any results quite like Saturday's. "I never took it seriously until now."


"I knew he'd be good, but not that good," Hardy said. "I wasn't expecting that."

Hill and Hardy duked it out most of the race.

"Something inside me told me just to stick with him, no matter how badly it hurt," Hill said. "That's what it came down to -- who could take the most pain."

"I just felt dead there at the end," Hardy said. "But I loved how the team did. That was exciting."

The Williamsport boys, who also got fifth- and sixth-place finishes from Cody Bowman (17:50) and Cody Grams (18:09), placed all seven of their runners in the top 25 and won the team title with 47 points.

Southern Garrett was second (59) and Boonsboro was third (85) out of 10 complete teams.

In the girls small-school race, Boonsboro's Sarah Zielinski pulled away from Smithsburg's Lauren Johnson shortly after the first mile and prevailed in 21:16.

"I just wanted to get out in the front pack," Zielinski said. "And then I just sort of left everybody."

Johnson, who finished second in 21:34, led the Leopards to the team title.

Smithsburg also got top-10 showings from Taylor Cline (fourth, 23:00), Lyndsie Delosier (fifth, 23:06) and Jonelle Jerwick (10th, 23:55) and finished with 48 points. Southern Garrett was second with 62.

"We did a lot of running over the summer and have been training really hard," Johnson said.

The race of the day came from the large-school boys.

Jefferson senior Brandon Doughty, the reigning West Virginia Class AAA state champion, barely edged Linganore's Braden Bruning at the finish line for the victory as both runners were clocked at 15:45.

The previous course record was 15:47, set last year by then-senior David Wilson of Smithsburg.

"That was the hardest race of my life," Doughty said.

The Jefferson star placed 10th in 16:46 at last year's Interstate Classic.

"That was the worst race of my season last year," Doughty said. "I was excited to come back and get revenge on the course."

Jefferson also got top-10 finishes from Eric Graf (third, 16:02) and Ryan Graf (seventh, 16:47) and easily won the team title with a mere 40 points.

Winters Mill's Hannah Oneda won the girls large-school race in 18:53. River Hill won the team title.

Small School Girls

Teams: 1. Smithsburg 48; 2. Southern Garrett 62; 3. Mountain Ridge 102; 4. Fort Hill 103; 5. Boonsboro 104; 6. Williamsport 119; 7. Clear Spring 142; 8. St. Maria Goretti 227. Incomplete -- Hancock, Mount Airy.

Top 15 runners: 1. Sarah Zielinski (Bo) 21:16; 2. Lauren Johnson (Sm) 21:34; 3. Emily Foreman (MR) 22:04; 4. Taylor Cline (Sm) 23:00; 5. Lyndsie Delosier (Sm) 23:06; 6. Lindsey Smith (SG) 23:32; 7. Katie Rickerds (Bo) 23:51; 8. Ashley Gordon (SG) 23:52; 9. Morgan Pettner (CS) 23:54; 10. Jonelle Jerwick (Sm) 23:55; 11. Leah Yurko (FH) 23:58; 12. Maria Mouridsen (Wi) 23:58; 13. Karisa Weissgerber (SG) 24:10; 14. Mikaela Shelton (CS) 24:28; 15. Carlin Baker (FH) 24:29.

Large School Girls

Teams: 1. River Hill 49; 2. Mount Hebron 72; 3. Thomas Johnson 84; 4. Richard Montgomery 127; 5. Winters Mill 171; 6. Walkersville 188; 7. Jefferson 190; 8. Linganore 199; 9. Washington 203; 10. Hedgesville 209; 11. Martinsburg 245; 12. Tuscarora 332; 13. South Hagerstown 425.

Top 15 runners: 1. Hannah Oneda (WM) 18:53; 2. Savanna Plombon (TJ) 19:29; 3. Annie Powell (TJ) 19:57; 4. Kristen Galligan (TJ) 19:58; 5. Lindsey Hash (Je) 20:04; 6. Leanne Young (RH) 20:06; 7. Rachel Yep (MH) 20:11; 8. Anna Demaree (RH) 20:14; 9. Elena Dela Paz (RM) 20:22; 10. Kendall Auth (RH) 20:23; 11. Meghan Heneghan (RH) 20:29; 12. Nicole Rutherford (WM) 20:38; 13. Chelsea Vane (MH) 20:39; 14. Angelica Yi (RH) 20:48; 15. Payton Lawrence (RH) 20:49.

Small School Boys

Teams: 1. Williamsport 47; 2. Southern Garrett 59; 3. Boonsboro 85; 4. Landon 86; 5. Fort Hill 130; 6. Clear Spring 156; 7. Smithsburg 176; 8. Saint James 209; 9. Mountain Ridge 233; 10. St. Maria Goretti 283. Incomplete -- Hancock, Mount Airy, Oakdale.

The Herald-Mail Articles