20 candidates seek eight Washington Co. legislative seats

September 04, 2010|By ANDREW SCHOTZ

All eight seats in Washington County's legislative delegation in Annapolis are up for election this year.

Twenty candidates are running.

Many will compete in primary elections on Sept. 14. Some have no opponents until the Nov. 2 general election.

The Herald-Mail asked candidates in contested races a set of eight questions.

The Senate candidates' answers to four questions are running today; the other four will run Monday.

Answers had to be no more than 100 words or they would be edited down.

The most crowded race is in House of Delegates Subdistrict 2A, which runs from Smithsburg west and south toward Williamsport.

William J. Wivell, Denny Stouffer and Andrew A. Serafini, the incumbent, are competing for the Republican nomination. Neil Becker is the lone Democrat.


Del. John P. Donoghue, a Democrat, is facing Republican Cort Meinelschmidt in Subdistrict 2C, which largely mirrors the boundaries of the City of Hagerstown.

Del. LeRoy E. Myers Jr., a Republican, is opposed by Democrat Ronald Lohr in Subdistrict 1C, which mostly is in Allegany County and partly in Washington County.

The only open state seat in the area is in Subdistrict 2B, which starts east of Hagerstown and runs south through Boonsboro.

Del. Christopher B. Shank, a Republican, has represented the area for three terms.

This year, Shank is running for state Senate in District 2 against incumbent Donald F. Munson.

Three candidates are seeking the 2B seat -- Republicans Ted Brennan and Neil Parrott and Democrat Brien J. Poffenberger.

Shank and Munson will face each other in a Republican primary. The winner will have a clear path to victory because there is no Democrat in the race.

The three remaining races also include territories that cross county lines.

Senate District 3 is mostly in Frederick County, but has a tiny portion of Washington County. Alex X. Mooney, the Republican incumbent, is uncontested in the primary. Don DeArmon and Ronald N. Young are vying for the Democratic nomination.

Delegate Subdistrict 3B also lies mostly in Frederick County and partly in Washington County. The sitting delegate, Charles A. Jenkins, is running against Michael Hough in a GOP primary. The winner will face Democrat Paul Gilligan in the general election.

The final local seat -- Senate District 1, running from Garrett County west into Allegany County and ending in Washington County -- is the only one with no suspense. Incumbent Republican George C. Edwards has no competition.

Delegates and senators serve four-year terms and are paid $43,000 per year.

The Herald-Mail Articles