Early voting wraps today in Eastern Panhandle

August 25, 2010|By MATTHEW UMSTEAD

MARTINSBURG, W.Va. - Voters have until 5 p.m. today to cast ballots before Saturday's special primary election for the U.S. Senate seat that was held by the late Robert C. Byrd.

Through the first four days of early voting in Berkeley County, more than 800 ballots have been cast, according to Berkeley County Deputy Clerk Bonnie Woodfall.

"I don't know what Saturday's turnout is going to be like," said Woodfall, who has been surprised by the turnout thus far.

To avoid possible scheduling conflicts posed by the Saturday election, registered voters today vote at the Berkeley County Voters Registration office at 110 W. King St. in Martinsburg between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. to vote. Jefferson and Morgan County voters can cast their ballot early at their respective county courthouses at 100 E. Washington St. in Charles Town, W.Va., and on the corner of Fairfax and Washington streets in Berkeley Springs, W.Va.


On Saturday, polls open at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m. There are 13 Republicans and three Democratic candidates vying for their respective party's nomination to run for the Senate seat in the Nov. 2 general election. Mountain Party candidate Jesse Johnson is running unopposed.

The GOP candidates are Thomas Ressler, Harry Bruner, Frank Kubic, John Raese, Daniel Scott Rebich, Kenneth Culp, Albert Howard, Lynette Kennedy McQuain, Scott H. Williams and Mac Warner. The Democratic candidates are Gov. Joe Manchin, Ken Hechler and Sheirl Fletcher.

Voters are reminded that if they're not registered as a Democrat, Republican or Mountain Party member, they must choose which ballot they wish to cast from one of the major political parties listed and let their poll worker know.

Polling locations in Berkeley County remain unchanged from the May primary election, Woodfall said. A list of polling locations for the county's 66 voting precincts is posted on the Berkeley County Commission's website at

The Voters Registration office also can be reached at 304-264-1989.

In Jefferson County, registered voters in Precinct 23 are to vote at Country Day School, those in Precinct 31 will vote at St. James Lutheran Church and voters in Precinct 35 will vote at New Hope Assembly of God, County Clerk Jennifer S. Maghan announced on Tuesday.

More information about candidate information polling place locations in Jefferson County can be found on-line at

Residents also may call the County Clerk's office at 304-728-3246 for more information.

More information about voting in the special election in Morgan County is available by contacting the Morgan County Clerk's office at 304-258-8547.

The Herald-Mail Articles