Talbott award presented

August 22, 2010
  • Colleen Miller, left, presented Olivia LeMaster, right, with the Evelyn Talbott Community Service Award during the 2010 Miss Berkeley County Youth Fair Contest, Saturday, July 31, 2010.
Submitted photo,

MARTINSBURG, W.Va. -- The Evelyn Talbott Community Service Award was presented to Olivia LeMaster as part of the 2010 Miss Berkeley County Youth Fair Contest.

This award is given to honor the memory of Evelyn Talbott, who was one of the originators of the Miss Youth Fair contest and served as the chairman for more than 15 years.

The criteria used to select the winner from the current year's contestants is based on the service that each has given to her school, church, organizations to which she belongs and her community.

Two sisters, both Miss Berkeley County Youth Fair Queens, Kathy Hutzler Bennett (1968) and Colleen Hutzler Miller (1970) started the award in 1989 to recognize a contestant who displayed the quality of service, much like Talbott did.

An engraved, personalized clock is given to the winner signifying the time that she has given in service to others.

Olivia was chosen because of her service in the New Seekers 4-H Club of Martinsburg, and in her community.


She lives in Martinsburg with her parents, Tony and Beth LeMaster, and attends Faith Christian Academy in Martinsburg.

The winners of this award, since it began, include:

1989: Janelle (Smith) Sperry

1990: Tara (Slough) Summer

1991: Jan (Frankenberry) Chancey

1992: Amy Pezzanite

1993: Kara (Foster) McDaniel

1994: Barrie Rudisill

1995: Jennifer Rager

1996: Lauron Smallwood & Sarah (Ashton) Taylor

1997: Annette (Snyder) Jordan

1998: Shannon Markley

1999: Julie (Orr) Bolyard

2000: Heather Gillich

2001: Clarissa Westmeyer

2002: Kara (Frye) Carr

2003: Ilene Funk

2004: Ashley Young

2005: Brittany Young

2006: Jessica Monroy & Autumn Yebernesky

2007: Julianne (Frye) Roberts

2008: Sarah Orr

2009: Renee Sustarich

The Herald-Mail Articles