Deese finds way back to Speedway winner's circle

August 16, 2010|By C.J. LOVELACE/Staff Correspondent

Roy Deese Jr. almost couldn't believe it.

Deese, the defending track champion, snapped a winless streak dating back to March 2009 and became the 10th different Late Model winner Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway.

Trailing 54-year-old rookie Jerry Bard for the majority of the race, Deese took advantage of lapped traffic to squeeze by for the lead with two laps to go to take the 25-lap caution-free feature win.

"I had to look at the scoreboard three times to see if that was me up there," said Deese. "It's been a long time since I've done this."


Deese narrowed the gap behind current track points leader Frankie Plessinger, who came home eighth, with the win. Despite numerous mechanical difficulties and bad luck this season, the Laurel, Md., racer said his goal has stayed the same.

"It's been a tough year," said Deese. "I'd like to see Frankie win it as much as anybody, but only if I can't. We're going to race him hard for it and just keep chewing away at it."

Deese came from his start in the fourth row to battle Al Shawver Jr. for much of the race, while allowing Bard to pull away from the field. Deese took advantage of Bard's slowed lap times because of traffic to take an inside line by Bard in turn two on lap 23, and won by about seven car lengths.

Bard, a driver out of Shippensburg, Pa. who narrowly missed his first career win, finished second, followed by Gary Stuhler, the winningest driver in Hagerstown history. Shawver and Mike Lupfer rounded out the top five. Completing the top 10 were Marvin Winters, Jamie Lathroum, Plessinger, Rusty Sites and Alan Sagi.

Bard and Winters won their respective heat races.

In Late Model Sportsman action, Glenn Elliott used a lap 11 pass on Richard Walls to take the lead and ran away with the 20-lap win, his fourth of the season but first at Hagerstown.

Overcoming more than just his competitors on the track, Elliott's rig broke down on Interstate 70 while coming to the track Saturday.

"I had to call a buddy of mine to get me up here and had to call a tow truck to get my other rig. But I tell you what, I wanted to win here this year. I didn't think we were going to get it," said Elliott, of Sykesville, Md. "It feels great to be here. I wanted to win."

Following Elliott, current points leader Pete Weaver, Kyle Lear, Mike Walls and Wayne Walls Jr. completed the top five.

Darrin Younker took the 20-lap Pure Stock feature win, one of the lone bright spots of a disappointing season.

"It's been a dismal season for us this year," said Younker, of Berkeley Springs, W.Va. "Whatever could go wrong has gone wrong."

Brian Miller, who was right on Younker's bumper as he took the checkered flag, finished second followed by Eddie McClellan, Dave Stouffer Jr. and Charlie Pensinger to complete the top five.

To cap off the night, Chris Ebersole used a quick restart with just three laps to go to win the 30-lap Enduro Dash.

Next Saturday night will be the Small Car National Qualifier for Late Model Sportsman and Pure Stocks, plus 24th Annual Tommy Thompson Demo Derby. Racing starts at 7 p.m.

The Herald-Mail Articles