Practical nursing program graduates 22 in Franklin County

August 16, 2010

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. - Graduation for the 22 members of the August class of Franklin County Career and Technology Center - Practical Nursing students took place Aug. 3 at St. Paul United Methodist Church in Chambersburg.

It was the 103rd graduating class of the practical nursing program, which has been in existence for more than 50 years.

Welcoming comments were given by James Duffey, administrative director of the center, who also presented the diplomas.

The graduation address was given by Vanessa McDowell, who is the community outreach coordinator for Keystone Health Center and has served the community for approximately 10 years. Her message was to always look for the thread that binds humanity - it will come unexpectedly.

Janyce Collier, nurse administrator, presented the class to Duffey, stating that the graduates had successfully completed the 230-day, 1,610-hour program.

The faculty, Lisa Mentzer and Pamela Hoffeditz, presented the graduates with school pins and lamps. The organist was Jody Hartman, and Michelle Snodderly was the soloist. The Rev. Rick Noll gave the invocation and benediction.


Awards were presented by faculty member Deb Ramer.

Julie Morgan received the Florence Nightingale award, sponsored by Dr. Paul Orange and Menno Haven Inc.

The Clinical Practice award, sponsored by the Business and Professional Women's Club of Chambersburg and the faculty of the practical nursing program, was presented to Lori Carr.

Julie Morgan received the Scholastic award, sponsored by Psychological Services Bureau in memory of Anna S. Evans, and the Geriatric award, sponsored by the Falling Spring Nursing and Rehab Center auxiliary, was presented to Laura Bentz. Special recognition for perfect attendance was given to Lauren Mills.

The nursing program, on the campus of Wilson College, is a one-year program that provides theory and clinical learning experience that prepares graduates to be eligible to take the licensing exam for nursing accredited, which is the gold standard for accrediting nursing programs.

The graduates are Laura R. Bentz, Shamokin, Pa.; Amanda B. Blessing, Landisburg, Pa.; Alicia M. Boarts, Newburg, Pa.; Lori Carr, McConnellsburg, Pa.; Brenna Lynn Coons, Spring Run, Pa.; Holly Elizabeth Durst, Waynesboro, Pa.; Alexandra F. Fautua, Mechanicsburg, Pa.; Julie A. Graham, Carlisle, Pa.; Sandra K. Hughes, Chambersburg; Jennifer Kwasnaza, Shippensburg; Laura A. McLaughlin, Waynesboro; Lauren Ashley Mills, Waynesboro; Susan K. Monismith, Shippensburg; Julie Ann Morgan, Greencastle, Pa.; Amy Suzanne Myers, Carlisle; Cynthia K. Nieb, Shippensburg; Fran Palmer, Chambersburg; Tiffany N. Piper, St. Thomas, Pa.; Rebecca Lynn Porter, Chambersburg; Chelsea Shae Sanno, Shermans Dale, Pa.; Stephanie Marie Summers, Chambersburg; and Heather Lee Treharne, Mechanicsburg.

The Herald-Mail Articles