Chambersburg knocks off Hagerstown 'A'

July 19, 2010


BOARDMAN, Ohio -- Chambersburg defeated Hagerstown 'A' twice on Sunday to win the PONY 13 East Zone West Region championship.

Chambersburg won the first game, 5-2. Timmy Hartsock had two hits for Hagerstown, which committed two errors.

Hartsock and Riley Lazich each had three hits in the second game, but seven Hagerstown errors proved costly in a 7-6 loss.

River City 9-10

Conococheague 23, Halfway 5

Conococheague: Madi Renn 4 hits; Bryan Bowers 3 hits; Jaustin Itnyre, Trevor Knode 2 hits each.

Halfway: Jaden Brady 3 hits; Camryn Keller, Cody Boward 2 hits each.

Sharpsburg 14, National 6

Sharpsburg: Dalton Shank, Kelton Brown 2 hits each.

Sharpsburg 13, West End 10


Sharpsburg: Ryan Nolan 2 hits.

Rally at Valley 7-8

Clear Spring 14, South Berkeley 1

Clear Spring: Carson Poffenberger 3 hits; Eric Bender, Kyle Willhite 2 hits each.

Maugansville 13, Valley White 1

Maugansville: Braiden Wolfe 9 Ks.

Clear Spring 15, South Mountain 11

Clear Spring: Carson Poffenberger, Cole Weaver 2 hits each.


Braves take 2-0 series lead

SMITHSBURG -- Fred Kreiger hit a walk-off two-run homer to lift the Hagerstown Braves to a 3-1 victory over the Boonsboro Pirates on Sunday as the Braves took a 2-0 lead in the Blue Ridge Adult League best-of-5 semifinal series.

Matt Ridenour went the distance on the mound for the win, allowing three hits while striking out eight.

Dave Warrenfeltz had three hits for the Braves, while Matt Murray had two hits and an RBI and Kreiger finished with two hits and two runs scored.


MABRA Age-Graded Criterium Championships

CASCADE -- The Mid-Atlantic Bicycle Racing Association Age-Graded Criterium Championships were held Sunday at Fort Ritchie.

The champions were: Shane Scoggin of Reston, Va. (Junior 10-14); Justin Mauch of Sterling, Va. (Junior 15-18); Chris Kelley of Middletown, Md. (Women 45-plus); Janet Olney of Baltimore (Women 35-plus); Phil Hepburn of Alexandria, Va. (Men 55-plus); Barry Lee of Lebanon, Pa. (Men 65-plus); Art Brown of Washington, D.C. (Men 45-plus); Todd Bickling of Annapolis, Md. (Cat 3-4 35-plus); and Nima Ebrahimnejad of Purcerville, Va. (Men 35-plus).

Several members of Antietam Velo Club/Team Hagerstown-Washington County competed. Tim Lung placed third in the Men's 55-plus race; Mike Spinnler was 12th and Dennis Crockett was 17th in the Men's 45-plus race; and Joe Jefferson was 21st, Stephen Brooks was 22nd, Crockett was 32nd, Jack Gardner was 35th and Randy Buxbaum was 37th in the Cat 3-4 35-plus race.


McNaney scored hole-in-one

Dixie McNaney recorded her third career hole-in-one at Beaver Creek Country Club, acing the 115-yard, par-3, eighth hole with a 7-wood. Her shot was witnessed by Greg McNaney, John Mann, Jim Sklencar and Charles Drummond.


Hagerstown Speedway

Alan Sagi of Hagerstown broke a nearly three-year-old winless drought as he notched his first late model feature win of the season and first-ever win for car owner John Chamberlain at Hagerstown Speedway on Saturday night.

Kyle Lear, Severna Park, Md., the area's hottest late model sportsman driver, scored his third feature win in a row as he captured the second annual 31-lap Bill Bowman Memorial. Danny Beavers, of Hedgesville, W.Va., became the sixth different winner in the pure stock ranks with his first career win in the division. "Krazy" Kenny Thomas of Keedysville, Md., continued his winning ways as he scored his fourth win of the season in the 30-lap enduro dash.

Late Models

1. Alan Sagi; 2. Tyler Hershey; 3. Roy Deese Jr.; 4. Frankie Plessinger; 5. Marvin Winters; 6. Mike Lupfer; 7. Randy Burkholder; 8. Al Shawver Jr.; 9. Rusty Sites; 10. Steve Gibney; 11. Kirk Baker; 12. Larry Baker; 13. Doug Legum; 14. Gary Stuhler; 15. Jerry Bard (DNS).

Lap Leaders: Tyler Hershey (1-7), Alan Sagi (8-25).

Late Model Sportsman

1. Kyle Lear; 2. Pete Weaver; 3. Terry Flaherty; 4. Justin Weaver; 5. Ashley Barrett; 6. Doug Timmons; 7. Donnie Farling; 8. Wayne Walls Jr.; 9. Fred Harden; 10. Barry Miller; 11. Courtney Shreiner; 12. Chad Myers; 13. Ryan Walls; 14. Steve Kent; 15. Nick Pappas; 16. Rodney Walls; 17. Cody Lear; 18. Steven Axtell Jr.; 19. Mike Walls; 20. Scott Palmer; 21. Richard Walls; 22. Glen Elliott (DNS).

Lap Leaders: Justin Weaver (1-4), Kyle Lear (5-31).

Pure Stocks

1. Danny Beavers; 2. Steve Lowery; 3. Mike Warrenfeltz; 4. Kenny Dillon; 5. Brian Miller; 6. Drew Fitzsimmons; 7. Hans Stamberg; 8. Charlie Pennsinger; 9. Bill Reitober; 10. Billy Ecton; 11. Kenny Day; 12. Keith Koontz; 13. Frank Dibella; 14. Kevin Koontz; 15. Carl McClellan; 16. Mike Kratovil; 17. Dave Stouffer Jr.

Lap leaders: Danny Beavers (1-15).

Enduro Dash

1. "Krazy" Kenny Thomas; 2. Mark Vegh; 3. Joe Rodgers; 4. Chris Ebersole; 5. Danny Holmes; 6. Bryan Green; 7. William Crook; 8. Dave Shatto; 9. Matt Smith; 10. Eric Myers; 11. John Poole; 12. Russell Hutzell Jr.; 13. Hot Rod Rodney Miner; 14. Larry Hurley; 15. Bill Hargett; 16. J.C. Butts; 17. Kenny Thomas.

The Herald-Mail Articles