Community Foundation hands out scholarships

July 19, 2010

The Community Foundation of Washington County has announced the recipients of three scholarships from funds held by the Foundation.

The funds and recipients are:

o Anna Olszewski received an award from the Boonsboro High School Class of 1970 Alumni Scholarship Fund.

o Meghan Harbaugh received an award from the second annual Christine Ecker Memorial Scholarship Fund.

o Breanne Lohman received an award from the Joseph M. Ellis Scholarship Fund.

About the students and scholarships:

Boonsboro High School Class of 1970 Alumni Scholarship Fund - Olszewski was selected from an array of applicants for her ability to express what it really means to be a Warrior. She will continue her education at Clarion University in Pennsylvania this fall.

Christine Ecker Memorial Scholarship Fund - This scholarship was established by Christine's parents to benefit participants in cheerleading programs at North Hagerstown High School who plan to pursue a career in early childhood development or education. These goals reflect goals Christine held prior to her death in May 2008. The 2010 recipient, Harbaugh, plans to major in education at Shippensburg (Pa.) University and to become an elementary school teacher.


Joseph M. Ellis Scholarship Fund - Boonsboro High School graduate Lohman has been named the 2010 recipient of the Joseph M. Ellis Scholarship.

Mr. and Mrs. Eric Ellis created this scholarship in memory of their son to benefit graduates of Boonsboro High School who exhibit an exemplary community service record. Each applicant must be passionate about service and be able to articulate the benefits they receive through the use of their time and talent.

Lohman served as a mentor at Sharpsburg Elementary School while in high school. This experience has influenced her career goal of becoming a pediatric or obstetrical nurse. She plans to attend Mount St. Mary's University in the fall.

For more information about these scholarships, call the Community Foundation at 301-745-5210 or go to

The Herald-Mail Articles