Washington County Sports Hall of Fame awarding scholarships to 12 athletes

July 14, 2010

The Washington County Sports Hall of Fame will award scholarships to 12 county high school graduates Saturday at its 24th annual banquet at Elks Lodge 378 on Robinwood Drive in Hagerstown.

In addition, the Hall of Fame will honor Washington County's Male and Female Athletes of the Year -- Williamsport's Justin Bowie and Smithsburg's Monica Hovermale -- Coach of the Year Rachel Brashear of Smithsburg and Official of the Year Ragan Shaw.

Daniel Rutherford (North Hagerstown), Hilary Shoop (St. Maria Goretti), Ashley Ferguson (Smithsburg) and Kaelii Stout (Williamsport) will receive the Board Of Directors award and several civic awards also will be presented.

The evening will culminate with the induction of seven new members of the Hall of Fame: Nick Adenhart, Terry Brown, Thomas Cross, Doug Mills, Ted Schoeck, Eddie Semler and David Wachter.


The scholarship winners are:

Carroll Reid/Doug Cochran Memorial Scholarship

Chelsey Baturin, Williamsport -- Baturin was a member of the Wildcats girls soccer, indoor track and outdoor track teams. She was valedictorian of her class and served as the student representative on the Washington County Board of Education.

Aaron "Major" Steiner Golf Scholarship

Chris Bushey, Smithsburg -- A four-year member of the Leopards golf program, Bushey was a regional champion in his senior year. He will continue playing in the fall at Potomac State College.

Hugh H. Schindel Family Trust Scholarship

Jackie Keller, North Hagerstown -- Keller is a four-year letter winner in both girls soccer and lacrosse. She is a member of the National Honor Society and received the scholar athlete award in each of her four years.

James F. Binau Sportsmanship Scholarship

Amanda Crowl, Clear Spring -- Crowl served as a team manager for the Blazers girls soccer and tennis teams in her junior year because of a serious illness. As a senior, she returned to competition on the soccer team as was a seeded player on the tennis team.

Nick Adenhart Memorial Scholarship

Brandon Glazer, Clear Spring -- Glazer helped the Blazers to their third straight MVAL Antietam baseball title in his senior season and was the county Player of the Year in both boys basketball and baseball. He was awarded Clear Spring's "Golden Glove" Award and was selected to the preseason All-State baseball team.

Millie Shank Academic Athletic Scholarship

Alison Harrell, North Hagerstown -- Harrell was a four-year letter winner in cross country and outdoor track and a three-year letter winner in indoor track. She was a scholar athlete in each of her four years and a member of the National Honor Society.

Gregg Delauney President's Scholarship

Emily Hargreaves, Smithsburg -- Hargreaves played girls basketball and soccer for four years for the Leopards while maintaining success with a rigorous academic load. She also organized a fundraiser that brought in $6,000 for a former Smithsburg student fighting a rare disease.

Robert "Turtle" Smith Baseball Scholarships

Nick Lanehart, Hancock -- Lanehart won 10 varsity letters for the Panthers and maintained a 3.46 GPA. He is attending Waynesburg (Pa.) College, where he will major in marine biology.

Kenneth Frederickson, Grace Academy -- Frederickson was a three-sport athlete (soccer, basketball and baseball) in all four of his high school years, serving as a role model to the younger players on the Grace teams. He was an all-conference baseball player each of the last two seasons.

Carroll I. Reid Jr./Cumberland Valley Athletic Club Scholarship

David Wilson, Smithsburg -- Wilson competed at the varsity level in cross country, indoor track and outdoor track in each of his four years and dominated his competition in his senior year. He had a 4.26 GPA and will attend Syracuse University in the fall.

Franklin "Wimp" Hamburg Male Scholarship

Scott Haupt, Boonsboro -- Haupt was a four-year member of the Warriors football, wrestling and baseball teams, serving as a team captain his senior year for football and wrestling and demonstrating an excellent work ethic throughout his academic and athletic careers.

Franklin "Wimp" Hamburg Female Scholarship

Paige Shirk, Clear Spring -- Shirk won numerous county, regional and state titles in the shot put and discus for the Blazers indoor and outdoor track teams. She has also excelled in the classroom, maintaining a 3.46 GPA, and volunteers often at her church.

The Hall of Fame banquet gets under way with a social hour at 5:30 p.m. Dinner is served at 6:30, with the induction ceremonies beginning immediately after dinner.

Tickets for the banquet are $25 and must be purchased in advance by calling Rick Schultz at 301-790-3399, Gregg Delauney at 240-675-1228 or Andy Reid at 301-791-6737. No tickets will be sold at the door.

The Herald-Mail Articles