Plessinger ends drought with his biggest win

July 05, 2010


Frankie Plessinger celebrated the holiday weekend by winning the 45th annual Johnny Roberts Memorial at Hagerstown Speedway on Saturday night for the biggest victory of his career.

It was the first win since April 2009 for Plessinger, the current late model points leader, and the ninth late model victory of his career.

Other winners were Kyle Lear, of Severna Park, Md., who scored his season first in the Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic late model sportsman feature, while Hagerstown's Mike Warrenfeltz scored the sixth win of the season in the Ernie D's pure stocks.

Plessinger pulled along the outside of Al Shawver Jr. on the backstretch of the 39th lap. The two cars touched, but both drivers recovered, allowing Plessinger to pull ahead and stretch to the win by 2.27 seconds.


Lear rushed to the lead in the final lap to win by 1.55 seconds over Pete Weaver.

Warrenfeltz took the lead on the ninth lap and held off Steve Lowery and Hans Stamberg to pull away for a victory by .426 seconds.


Williamsport Senators 18, Jefferson Bulls 1

Senators: Brent Mentzer, Justin Lewis, Connor Arnone, Dustin Gregory 3 hits each; Rodney Flora, Josh Grim 2 hits each.

Williamsport Senators 16, Jefferson Bulls 6

Senators: Justin Lewis 3 hits; Brent Mentzer, Josh Grim, Aaron Green 2 hits each.


Smithsburg 7-8 All-Stars

At Elkridge, Md.

Smithsburg 22, Severna Park 8

Smithsburg: Pat Stocks HR, 2 hits; Mitchell Schooler, Bryce Keller, Zach Clark, Hayden Githens, Greg Spear 2 hits each.

Smithsburg 15, Prince Georges 2

Smithsburg: Schooler, Keller, Githens, Jesse Liesenger 2 hits each.


Tri-State Softball League

Peckies-Jayne Keller DMD 14, Tim's Tools 11

Peckies-Jayne Keller DMD: Jess Souders, Von Eckstine, Shannon Lamberson 4 hits each; Dana Winters WP.

The Herald-Mail Articles