All-County Tennis -- Grahn, Adetunji ruled the county

June 16, 2010|By DAN KAUFFMAN
  • Tinuke Adetunji, South Hagerstown
By Kelly Hahn Johnson, Staff Photographer

It's pretty simple why North Hagerstown senior Andreas Grahn and South Hagerstown junior Tinuke Adetunji are the 2010 Herald-Mail Washington County Boys and Girls Tennis Players of the Year.

Neither Grahn nor Adetunji lost to a Washington County opponent all season.

Grahn went 13-1 overall at No. 1 singles before teaming with Laura Wagner to win a second straight Washington County Public Schools Tournament mixed doubles title. Grahn and Wagner also won the Region I title to reach the state tournament for a second straight year.

"I had a really good season and it's nice to get an award for it," Grahn said. "I had a lot of recognition this year, making states."

Hubs coach Pete Grunberg appreciates Grahn's versatility. Over the last two years, Grahn was 15-1 in singles, 11-1 in boys doubles and 11-3 in mixed doubles, filling whatever role the team needed.

"He's a leader by example," Grunberg said. "He's a great kid, always does what he's asked to do, very unselfish and just a good team player in an individual sport with a team concept."


Grahn flourishes with a solid all-around game. His skill at the net is a major reason for his doubles success.

"My volleying has been my biggest strength, and my footwork," Grahn said. "My groundstrokes improved a lot this year because I was playing singles, and my serve improved, too."

Adetunji went 20-2 overall this season and rolled through the county tournament without losing a set -- dropping just six of 42 games.

"She's just big off the ground, with a real solid forehand and backhand, and a lot of times she just overpowers players," Rebels coach Jason Kamler said. "Even as a freshman she was almost there. It's nice to see her grow as a player and as a student, and to see her finally win it. She's not one to show too much emotion but she was pretty excited."

As a freshman two years ago, Adetunji fell in three sets to North Hagerstown's Gretchen Schoeck in the county final. Adetunji missed the county tournament last year.

Kamler pointed to Adetunji's mental toughness as a major reason for her success -- using the county final against Smithsburg's Lara Seidman, which Adetunji won 6-2, 6-3, as an example.

"I think she's probably one of the most mentally tough players I ever had," Kamler said. "In the county final she was down 3-0 in the second set and it just doesn't bother her when she's down, it doesn't affect her game."

Joining Grahn on the All-County Boys First Team are:

Joseph Knight, North Hagerstown

The senior went 12-1 at No. 1 doubles and 3-0 at No. 1 singles during the regular season before rolling to the county tournament boys singles title without dropping a set, losing just nine of 45 games.

Greg Harrison and Eric Harrison, North Hagerstown

Brothers Greg, a senior, and Eric, a junior, teamed up to go 20-3 and win the county tournament boys doubles title without dropping a set. They finished third in Region I.

Ryan Paolini, North Hagerstown

The senior went 17-0 at No. 2 singles during the regular season before finishing third at the county tournament.

Joining Adetunji on the All-County Girls First Team are:

Megan Crowl, Clear Spring

The junior went 15-2 at No. 1 singles during the regular season, then teamed with Zac O'Neal to finish second in mixed doubles at both the county and Region I tournaments, qualifying for the state tournament.

Lara Seidman, Smithsburg

The senior went 14-6 overall in singles and finished second to Adetunji at the county tournament.

Alice D'Alauro and Erin Scally, Boonsboro

The seniors went 21-3 in girls doubles, winning the county tournament title without dropping a set.

Boys Honorable Mention

Boonsboro -- Serge Aleshin-Guendel; Clear Spring -- Zac O'Neal, Tyler Brown, Gavin Myers, Danny Mott; North Hagerstown -- Dominic Baxley, Max Psillas, Max Ober; Saint James -- Fraser McPherson, Austin Robertazza, Zach Abeles, Elias Orfan; St. Maria Goretti -- Max Agbayani, Tyler Shaper, Zack Fawaz; Williamsport -- Anthony Adams, Taylor Leonard, Lawrence Shaw, Kyle Marshall, Brad Miller.

Girls Honorable Mention

Boonsboro -- Sarah Colgan, Ashlyn Hawbaker, Erin McMurtrie; Clear Spring -- Ashlyn Long, Miranda Kearney, Becky Schrimsher; North Hagerstown -- Laura Wagner, Amanda Breidenstein, Rachel Ober, Mollie Johnson; South Hagerstown -- Kara Henson; Saint James -- Nicole Hause, Rose Chiumento, Caitlin Wilson, Molly Sackett, Callan Spicher; Williamsport -- Samantha Kelly.

The Herald-Mail Articles