Prep stars to come to town

June 03, 2010|By TIM KOELBLE

HAGERSTOWN -- The fifth annual Mid-Atlantic Baseball Classic doubleheader at Hagerstown's Municipal Stadium on Sunday will cap off the careers for many high school players.

For some, it will be another stepping stone to college.

The Diamond Stars will play at 1 p.m., and will be followed by the Mid-Atlantic Elite game at 4. Both will be nine-inning games.

Players from schools throughout the Tri-State region, ranging from Washington County to Waynesboro, Pa., to Musselman, W.Va., to Huntingtown, Md., will be in uniform.

A rain date is set for June 8, with game times at 4 and 7 p.m.

Unlike past years, there is no sponsor for the event.

Tournament organizer Dave Foltz said a small donation to a charity will be made this year, but most of the proceeds will be rolled over to help assure the event returns in 2011. The Classic has donated more than $5,000 to various charities.


Tickets are $8 for adults and $5 for children for both games.

Diamond Stars Rosters

No. Player, School Position


2 Blake Bandeff, Williamsport SS

3 Tim Hoover, South Hagerstown OF/2B

5 Brad Jordan, Clear Spring OF/P

5 Paul Walters, Brunswick P

6 Brian Lesher, Clear Spring P/OF

6 Thomas Allen, North Hagerstown C

6 Tyler Long, Tuscarora 3B/SS

7 Michael Madden, Tuscarora P/INF

8 Andrew Zeger, Greencastle 2B/SS

8 Ken Filler, Walkersville SS/2B

9 Ryan Sword, North Hagerstown OF/3B

10 Jamie Williams, Atholton P/3B

10 Zach Sauble, Williamsport OF/P

11 Michael Hooper, Brunswick OF/P

15 Greg Dayhoff, Walkersville P/1B

15 Mike Dillow, Millbrook, Va. 1B

17 Adam Jackson, Millbrook, Va. C/1B

17 Joel Rowe, Clear Spring 1B

17 Collin Mummert, Walkersville OF

19 Greg Lynn, North Hagerstown P

21 Meredith Miller, Thomas Johnson C/OF

21 Tyler Britt, Walkersville 3B/SS

22 Jason Hammond, Williamsport P/1B

30 Ajay Chenoweth, Hedgesville P/OF

32 Ryan Smouse, Mount Hebron P/2B

Head Coach: Jeremy Long, Walkersville


2 Jake Gouff, Smithsburg C

2 Alex Reifer, Linganore OF

3 Nick Crump, North Carroll SS

3 Kyle Zeigler, Westminster SS/2B

5 Alex Dawson, Hereford P/SS

6 Drew Karlin, Poolesville P/OF

6 Jay Donoghue, St. Maria Goretti C

7 Jack Schwartz, Smithsburg 3B

9 Ray Durante, Urbana OF

10 Brandon Wiley, Smithsburg 2B/OF

11 Jay Knight, Linganore SS/P

12 Alex Childs, Westminster OF

14 Jesse Mowen, Waynesboro P

16 Evan Larsen, Catoctin P/C

18 Jonathan Blubaugh, Waynesboro 1B

19 Zach Carney, Sherando, Va. P/1B

20 Dan Oliver, Urbana 3B/2B

21 patrick Howe, Waynesboro P/DH

21 Ryan Mason, Urbana OF/1B

33 Trevor Walzl, North Carroll 3B/P/C

22 Alec Baum, Centennial OF/P

23 Josh Green, Century C/3B

30 Sam Beatty, Hammond P

40 Kenny Georgius, Westminster P

Head Coach: Chris O'Connor, Linganore

Mid-Atlantic Elite Rosters

No. Player, School Position


1 Cesar Wong, Mercersburg SS/2B

1 Daniel Seeba, DeMatha SS/2B

2 Brandon Glazer, Clear Spring SS/P

2 Tyeler Presgraves, S. Hagerstown SS/2B

2 Dom Fratantuono, Card. Gibbons OF

2 Casey Fauver, Millbrook, Va. OF

3 Tyler Reid, Century 2B/C

4 Ryan LaRose, Musselman C

5 Chris Gaines, Huntingtown 3B/OF

7 Joey Zuniga, Walkersville LP/OF

7 T.J. Weisenburg, Martinsburg P/SS

7 Corey Morgan, Clear Spring C

8 Brad Banzhoff, Clear Spring P/INF

9 Nathan Darnley, Century OF/P

10 Matt Naugler, Century P/1B

12 Kevin Kean, Old Mill OF/SS

13 Corey Carpenter, North Hagerstown P

14 Chris Thorson, Mercersburg P

19 Taylor Henry, Linganore 1B/P

21 Huey Hite, Hedgesville P/3B

21 Spencer Wolfe, Huntingtown 1B/P

22 Kyle Riffe, DeMatha 3B/P

24 Chris DelVecchio, St. Paul's P/SS

25 Stephen Miele, Hedgesville OF/3B

33 Joe Bittner, DeMatha C

Head Coach: John Lowery Jr., Martinsburg


2 Kevin Kratochwill, Marriotts Ridge SS/OF

3 Justus Miller, Urbana 2B/OF

4 Danny Wissman, Hammond P

5 Dylan Driscoll, Urbana P/2B

5 Jared Christensen, Hammond SS/2B

7 Cole Sellers, Greencastle 3B/P

7 Richard Cruz-Sanchez, Urbana P/OF

7 Tyler Clark, Hammond 1B

7 Geoff Suddath, Liberty 3B/OF

7 Richard Duffee, Centennial OF

10 Jordan Bode, Liberty OF

11 Travis Clark, Hammond 3B/P

12 Dylan Schaeffer, Greencastle P/3B

12 Russ Patti, Centennial C

12 Chris Acker, Atholton 1B/P

14 Joey Logan, Hammond OF/P

15 Matt Fiedelholtz, Bethesda-CC OF

17 Tyler Itnyre, Brunswick P/2B

18 Calvin Turner, Westminster P/1B

22 Eric Schanzenbacher, Greencastle SS/3B

23 Devan Hill, St. Frances Acad. C/P

24 Brody Tennant, Mount Hebron OF

33 Ben Bleyer, Mount Hebron C/3B

Head Coach: Michael Lerner, Hammond

The Herald-Mail Articles