Funkstown wins big

May 30, 2010


WALKERSVILLE, Md. -- Jack Schwartz had four hits and J.J. O'Neil, Dylan Eyler and Jake Steich combined to pitch a three-hitter with 10 strikeouts as Funkstown defeated Woodsboro 16-1 in a Western Maryland District game Sunday.

Jeremy Barron and Tyeler Presgraves each had two hits for Funkstown (2-0).


Conococheague Junior League

Red Men 6, Homewood 5

Homewood: Joesph Pike 2 hits.

Conococheague Minor League

Tony's Pizza 4, Valley Storage 0

Tony's: Corey Walters, Justin Taylor combined no-hitter, 15 Ks; Tim Golliday 3 hits; Chris Rosenberry 2 hits.

Valley: Nathan Deloso 7 Ks.

Tony's Pizza 13, Moose 3


Tony's: Tatiana Thatcher 3 hits; Chris Rosenberry, Justin Taylor 2 hits each.

Hagerstown PONY League

Firefighters 9, Susquehanna Bank 6

Firefighters: Ryan Byard 2 hits, 2 RBIs; Cory Staubs HR; Brandon Haupt 2 HRs.

Susquehanna: Austin Stone 3 hits; Airin Martin 2 hits.

UAW 17, Red Men 6

UAW: Matt Clopper 3 hits; Casey Elbin 2 hits, 2 RBIs; Josh Solanki 2 hits, 3 RBIs.

Red Men: Demetrius Edwards 2 RBIs; Jake Boupieller, Jay Holbrook 2 hits each.

Goodwill 10, Centra Bank 5

Goodwill: Michael Brechbill, Wyatt Scriever 2 hits each; Nick Sauble, Brandon Iseminger 2 RBIs each.

Centra Bank: Kenny Mack, Ryan Abbott 2 hits each.

Eagles 11, Red Men 9

Eagles: Dylan Stouffer HR, 2 RBIs; Andrew Spitz, Derek Herbert 2 hits, 2 RBIs each.

Red Men: Isaiah Frye 3 hits, 2 RBIs.

Junior Legion

Willimasport Senators 8, Bruswick 4

Senators: Brent Mentzer, Justin Lewis 2 hits each.


Middletown Knights 10, HCYP Raiders 5

Middletown: Robby Tucker 3 hits, 2 RBIs; Ryan Robinson 3 hits; Brian Cibula 2 hits; John Hicks 2 RBIs.

Valley Minor League

Columbia Bank 12, B.J. Builders 9

Columbia Bank: Luke Barnes 3 hits; Drew Talbert, Cole McKeever, Luke Arabainia 2 hits each.

B.J. Builders: Frankie Corsi 3 hits; Jimmy Updegraff 3 hits, 5 RBIs; Brady Martin, Daniel Lushbaugh 2 hits each.

Columbia Bank 16, B.J. Builders 12

Columbia Bank: Blake Barry, Drew Talbert, Morgan Hyman, Jonathan Ridenour 2 hits each.

B.J. Builders: Justin Clinesmith 3 hits; Frankie Corsi, Brady Martin, Alondra Guzman 2 hits each.


Project 320 5K

at Antietam National Battlefield

177 finishers

Males: 1. Doug Oates 16:44.2; 2. Rob Hovermale 18:01.1; 3. Matt Elgin 18:30.3; 4. Jesse Buchman 18:48.4; 5. Mike Meadows 18:52.5; 6. David Kidd 19:12.1; 7. Caleb Buchman 19:13.8; 8. Jamie Boward 19:54.7; 9. Mark Taggart 20:04.5; 10. David Langford 20:21.3.

Females: 1. Jennifer Plevinski 20:07.3; 2. Laura Bergman 21:46.5; 3. Kimmie Adams 21:48.9; 4. Sarah Boward 21:59.7; 5. Jamie Wisz 22:07.0; 6. Misty Lowman 22:26.5; 7. Cheryl Scholl 22:29.5; 8. Melissa Raymond 23:38.5; 9. Julie McGee 24:38.1; 10. Kathy Gillis 24:51.5.


Hagerstown Speedway

Jack Pencil, of Bedford, Pa., won his first Hagerstown Speedway race Saturday night in the 15th annual Bonebrake Tribute, a Three State Flyer Late Model Series event. Jason Covert, who was the defending champ and winner of the previous four Flyer events at Hagerstown, was the runner-up.

Scott Palmer, of Greencastle, Pa., led flag to flag to score his first Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic late model sportsman event since Sept. 9, 2006. Also, Hagerstown's Mike Warrenfeltz recorded the 78th Ernie D's pure stock victory of his career after taking the lead on a restart and holding on the final eight circuits.


Irv Easterday Golf Tournament

The Hagerstown Community College Hawk Booster Club will host the Irv Easterday Golf and HCC Hall of Fame Tournament on June 28 at Beaver Creek Country Club in Hagerstown.

The tournament is open to the public and will feature a four-person scramble or "Captain's Choice" format. Cost is $100 per player. Fee includes golf and cart, complimentary range balls, gift bag, prizes, banquet dinner, Hawk Booster Club membership for the 2010-2011 year, use of ARCC facilities and admission to all regular-season athletic games and Hawk Booster Club socials.

The tournament begins at 1 p.m. and the banquet dinner will begin at 6 p.m. Following the banquet, an induction ceremony will be held for the 2010 HCC Hall of Fame inductees.

For information or to register, contact Bill McKinley at 301-223-8912 or

The Herald-Mail Articles