Town elections set in Jefferson County

May 27, 2010|By RICHARD F. BELISLE

SHEPHERDSTOWN, W.Va. -- There won't be any surprises in Tuesday's election in Ranson unless a dark-horse, write-in candidate dumps a longtime councilman.

In Shepherdstown, meanwhile, the ballot is short a council candidate.

In Ranson, three incumbent candidates are unopposed: Town Recorder Ray (Tony) Braithwaite and Councilmen Scott Coulter in Ward One; and Donnie Haines in Ward Two.

Howard Glenville Shade, the incumbent at-large council member on the ballot, is being challenged by write-in candidate Victoria "Tori" Myers.

Ranson council members serve four-year terms.

Incumbents on the Shepherdstown ballot are Mayor Jim Auxer, Town Recorder Lori Robertson and Councilwoman Wanda Smith.

They are unopposed, as are council candidates Josh Stella, David Rosen and Bane Schill.

One council seat is vacant on the ballot.

Auxer said the council will appoint someone to fill the fifth seat after the election.

Shepherdstown council members serve two-year terms.


Polls will be open in both towns Tuesday from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Ranson voters will cast ballots at City Hall. Early voting will continue Friday and Saturday at City Hall from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Shepherdstown residents will vote at the Entler Hotel. Early voting, at Town Hall, will continue Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Saturday, also at Town Hall, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

The Herald-Mail Articles