Candidates sign tax pledge

May 25, 2010

Four Republican candidates for state office on Tuesday officially pledged to oppose any attempt to raise taxes.

They signed the Americans for Tax Reform's Taxpayer Protection Pledge.

A candidate says he or she "will oppose and vote against any and all efforts to increase taxes."

The local candidates who signed Tuesday were:

  • Del. Andrew A. Serafini, who was appointed to the Subdistrict 2A seat in 2008 and is running for a full four-year term

  • Del. Christopher B. Shank, who represents Subdistrict 2B but is challenging Donald F. Munson for his state Senate seat in this year's GOP primary

  • Neil Parrott, who is running for the Subdistrict 2B seat

  • Cort Meinelschmidt, who is running for the Subdistrict 2C seat now held by Del. John P. Donoghue, a Democrat seeking re-election.

    The candidates gathered at the Leitersburg Pike office of Oliver Homes, where they were joined by Taylor Oliver, the company's president.

    Americans for Tax Reform describes itself as a nonprofit lobbying organization that supports "simpler, flatter, more visible and lower" taxes.


-- Andrew Schotz

The Herald-Mail Articles