Principal's Citizenship Award winners recognized

Fifth-graders honored at May 20 event at Williamsport High School

May 25, 2010

The 23rd annual Elementary Principal's Citizenship Award Program was May 20 at Williamsport High School.

The honored fifth-graders were selected by principals at each elementary school or by a committee appointed by the principal. Each student was recognized for outstanding citizenship with a certificate, plaque and a thank you from Elizabeth Morgan, superintendent of schools.

The award criteria includes pride and respect toward students and adults; pride and respect toward the school, its rules and property; participation in class discussions and school activities; and maximum effort to do well academically.

While in school or participating in school-related activities, all Washington County Public Schools students are expected to follow a county code of conduct that is divided into six standards, based on the Josephson Institute of Ethics Character Counts! pillars: trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring and citizenship.


A committee from the Washington County Association of Elementary School Administrators organizes the awards program each year. This year's event was sponsored by Hagerstown Honda & Kia, with pictures provided by Larry Allen & Co. Inc.

Award recipients:

Bester Elementary School: Melina Benlizar, Jonice Boyce, Ryan Curry, McCoy Dutrow

Boonsboro: Jacob Cowan, Megan Klosterman, Ethan Varney, Ashley Williams

Cascade: Ashley E. Dwyer, Joshua M. Dwyer

Clear Spring: Adriana Baker, Asa Heines, Sean Little

Conococheague: Joshua Davis, Kelsey Lewis

Eastern: Natalie Alexander, Jason Almanza, Phoenix Do, Giulia Pucci, Ethan Swope

Emma K. Doub: Jesse Heinrich, Jada Younker

Fountain Rock: Brynn Lewis, Edison Ly

Fountaindale: Makenzie Davis, Eduardo Elias-Vasquez, Chanel Sellers, Kelyn Washington

Greenbrier: Dia Daughtridge, Susan Dion Daughtridge, Steven Santa Maria

Hancock: Cody Childers, Deanna Golden

Hickory: Aly Cosiem, Alexis Hubbard

Linconshire: Joshua Atha, Logan Nally, Alexander Nguyen, Rhianon Reilly, Alyssa Sweitzer

Maugansville: Josephine Baker-Vautrin, Bethany Doppel, Jose Rosario, Matthew Rosario

Old Forge: Brett Grove, Cole Shifflett, Madison Taylor

Pangborn: Logan DeGrange, Karla Frias, Kyle Godish, Brittney Hejduk, Ryan Montes

Paramount: Bray Burkholder, Karen Gonzalez, Nikita Johnson

Pleasant Valley: Patricia Henderson, Phillip Plunkard

Potomac Heights: Carinna Householder, Jacob Reyes

Rockland Woods: Abigail Flitton, Emma Lorenzen, Cade Price

Salem Avenue: Jackie Bladen, Benjamin Carbaugh, Brittany Knott, Dajohnna Lyles, Cianna Ortiz, Kiersten Shilling, Jacob Simmons, Carrie Yeager

Sharpsburg: Kyle Curtis, Rebekah Scott

Smithsburg: Matthew Benner, Spencer Prete, Kirsten Tilden

Williamsport: Tanner Dreisbach, Hunter Felder, Eryn McVicker, Justin Walters

The Herald-Mail Articles