Student news

May 22, 2010

Richard Alexander "Alex" Aleshire of Williamsport High School has been inducted into the National Society of High School Scholars with a 3.8 grade-point average.

Alex, a sophomore, is also a member of the Williamsport High basketball and soccer teams.

He is playing club soccer at the Hagerstown Soccer Club, is playing AAU basketball and is playing baseball at Conococheague Senior League.

He is the son of Rick and Cheryl Aleshire of Hagerstown.

BLACKSBURG, Va. - Nathan Brandt, a graduating senior at Clear Spring High School, is the recipient of a Dean's Scholar Award in the College of Engineering at Virginia Tech.

The award represents one of the most generous scholarship offers to entering freshmen in the College of Engineering, awarding $5,000 annually for up to four years of engineering studies. Awards are based on intellectual promise and academic performance, leadership ability, personal character and community service.


ST. MARY'S CITY, Md. - The following area students received awards at St. Mary's College of Maryland:

Emily Marie Fawcett of Hagerstown received the Biology Department Award for Academic Distinction and Service

Jacqueline Marlene Brady of Thurmont, Md., received the Mendel Award in Biology for Outstanding Achievement in the Second Year

Peter Vincent Black of Keedysville received the Department Award in Political Science

Kelli Lynn Hill of Hagerstown received the B. Jonathan Sekula Memorial Award in Psychology and the Community Service Award

Lucy Tommasina Bill of Frederick, Md., received the Department Award in Sociology

Justin Ian Foreman of Mount Airy, Md., received the Arts Alliance Award for Excellence in Film and Media Studies

Briana Marie Manente of Middletown, Md., received the Torre M. Meringolo Theater Award

Hannah Elizabeth Boward of Hagerstown received the John R. Petruccelli Memorial Award

Adam Matthai of Middletown received the Sotterley Award.

SCRANTON, Pa. - Matthew Baer of Hagerstown was among the 50 University of Scranton students inducted into Alpha Sigma Nu, the national honor society for students in Jesuit colleges and universities, at a ceremony held recently on campus. The Scranton chapter of Alpha Sigma Nu was founded in 1943 and is the oldest honor society at the University of Scranton. Juniors and seniors who have distinguished themselves in scholarship, loyalty and service are eligible for membership.

Matthew is a junior biochemistry major in Scranton's College of Arts and Sciences.

WOOSTER, Ohio - Kathleen Metcalfe of Greencastle, Pa., a graduate of Mercersburg Academy, received a bachelor of arts degree from The College of Wooster during commencement exercises May 10.

Kathleen majored in psychology.

MARION, Ind. - Shannon Cooper of Hagerstown graduated May 1 from Indiana Wesleyan University.

She received a bachelor of science degree in nursing.

SHREVEPORT, La. - Centenary College of Louisiana has announced that Levita Feaster of Middletown, Md., has been selected to receive the Dean's Scholarship and has accepted enrollment to the college for the fall semester.

Feaster is a senior at Middletown High School.

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Ethan Jones of Hagerstown has been named a Founders Scholar at Indiana University Bloomington.

To receive this designation, a student must have earned a cumulative grade-point average of 3.8 or above.

He is a graduate of North Hagerstown High School.

The Herald-Mail Articles