230 Washington Co. students recognized for academic excellence

May 19, 2010|By DAVE McMILLION
  • Dominic Burford of North Hagerstown High School receives a certificate from Elizabeth Morgan at Celebration of Excellence program Wednesday evening
Ric Dugan, Staff Photographer

HAGERSTOWN -- Saying that "your success is our success," school administrators and others at North Hagerstown High School honored 230 high school seniors Wednesday night who achieved a grade-point average of 3.7 or higher through the halfway point of this school year.

The students were honored during the 2010 Washington County Public Schools Celebration of Excellence, a ceremony that has been held in the county for at least 20 years, Washington County Public Schools officials said.

After opening remarks by school officials, students were recognized as parents and friends looked on.

Among those honored was Kayla Eury of Boonsboro High School, who has a 4.05 grade-point average. Although Eury said she has been able to exceed a 4.0 grade-point average by excelling in advanced placement courses, her mother said she has done well in school all of her life.

"She's been like this ever since she was little. She could read when she was 2 1/2 (years old)," her mother, Stacy Lowery, said as the two enjoyed a dessert reception outside the auditorium before the ceremony started.


Nichole Gaines, who has a 4.02 grade-point average at Smithsburg High School, said she has taken college credit sociology and psychology classes. Her father, Tim Gaines, said his daughter's success is partly attributable to her siblings, who were good role models.

Carla Shoemaker of Hagerstown sat in the auditorium in support of her daughter, Emily Shoemaker, who has above a 4.0 grade-point average at Williamsport High School.

Shoemaker said her daughter plans to attend Hagerstown Community College to study childhood education.

Shoemaker said her daughter participates in a student teaching program at Hickory Elementary School.

"It's her niche. That's what she's called to do," Shoemaker said.

Among the school officials speaking at the ceremony were Wayne D. Ridenour, president of the Washington County Board of Education, and Washington County Superintendent of Schools Elizabeth Morgan.

Morgan said honoring the county's highest-achieving students is one of her favorite moments. They "get an old school teacher like me excited," she said.

Celebration of excellence

Following is a list of Washington County Public Schools students who were recognized Wednesday during the Celebration of Excellence. The following students achieved a grade-point average of 3.7 or higher through the halfway point of their senior year.

o Barbara Ingram School for the Arts

Katherine Carpio Pinto, Chelsea Eells, Margaret Rishell, Sarah Walters and Sheridan Webb.

o Boonsboro High School

Marcus Allnutt, William Atkins, Katie Brennan, Katrina Bushko, Richard Casto, Rebecca Demers, Carly Dodson, Kayla Eury, Allison Flynn, Macy Fuscsick, Dominika Hosova, Rebecca Hull, Virginia Lefler, Elizabeth Leizear, Breanne Lohman, Chad Love, Anna Olszewski, Zachary Puglisi, Elspeth Rawlings, Jacob Rockwell, Christina Russell, Laurin Smith, Stephanie Solomos, Jake Spence and Tyler Thompson.

o Clear Spring High School

Bradley Banzhoff, Nathan Brandt, Joy Bright, Kelsey Capezuto, Amanda Fawley, Aaron Hetzer, Hannah House, Kelly Humbertson, Max Martin, Damara McDonough, Casie Robertson, Christopher Ryce, Lakyn Sanders and Hannah Sung.

o Hancock Middle/Senior High School

Tiffany Arnett, Jenna Burkett, Hannah Creek, Nicklas Harvey, Morgan Kremeier, Jennifer McSparron, Mariah Peck, Dylan Rinker, Chelsea Stigile and Tiffiny Stotler.

o North Hagerstown High School

Vanessa Abrahams, Shaina Alvarez, Andrew Barnhart, Laura Bell, Madison Bondoc, Adele Bowers, Christine Brugh, Dominic Burford, David Burkey, John Connor, Fedora Copley, Patrick Creighton, Mallory Crossland, Paige Devore, Lewis Dillard, Suzanne Dunn, Michelle Ferreira, Farrah Garnand, Zachary Gilbert, Andreas Grahn, Adil Haq, Alison Harrell, Gregory Harrison, Christian Hatcher, Alexander Henry, Bryan Hetzer, Timothy Higgins, Avarice Holman Jr., Lindsay Irving, Sara Jamison, Chelsea Kaylor, Jacqueline Keller, Robert Keller, Elizabeth Kramer, Baynham Makusha, Megan Maloy, Kyle Miller, Olivia Montgomery, Kelsey Moore, Marlee Nelson, Ilona Panasyuk, Daniela Parra, Gessiqua Pugh, Meredith Reynolds, Hannah Robinson, Max Robison, Ragan Shaw, Renee Shaw, Kendra Smith, Stephanie Smith, Conner Spessard, Kelly Tinlin, Samantha Van Reenen, Loraine Viar, Anna Wade and Molly Warner.

o Smithsburg High School

Kari Ausherman, Anna Baldasarre, Shannen Banzhoff, Timothy Barr, Joseph Barvir, Courtney Boyer, Stephanie Breen, Kassandra Caudell, Corey Collins, Casey Crowley, Taylor Damuth, Evan Dennis, Cameron Ebersole, Nichole Gaines, Erika Gerhold, Justin Gipp, Braden Grosh, Rabee Haq, Emily Hargreaves, Christian Kingsbury, Julie Lewis, Rebekah Minnick, Nicholas Minnick, William Nigh, Emily Rodriguez, Sean Scott, Lara Seidman, Cody Shives, Jacob Shriver, Jena Smith, David Wilson and Brittany Winders.

o South Hagerstown High School

The Herald-Mail Articles