Berkeley Co. Board of Ed incumbents win re-election


MARTINSBURG, W.Va. -- Berkeley County Board of Education members Richard "Rick" Pill and Todd M. Beckwith appeared to easily win re-election Tuesday night, according to unofficial results released by Berkeley County Clerk John W. Small's office.

With all 66 precincts counted, Pill, 58, of Martinsburg finished first among a field of 10 candidates in the nonpartisan race, receiving 6,388 votes or 22 percent of the vote to win a third, four-year term.

Following Pill were Beckwith, 61, of Martinsburg who received 3,841 votes to win a fifth term, and newcomers Darin Gilpin and Ron Gray.

Gilpin, 41, of Martinsburg received 3,819 votes to finish third. Gray, 62, of Falling Waters, W.Va., who received 2,994 votes, will serve the unexpired term of William "Bill" Norris, who stepped down earlier this year to run for Berkeley County Council. Norris' term is set to expire in 2012.


Prior to the election, Pill said he would continue to lobby state leaders to increase the salaries and benefits of teachers and service employees, as well as improve facilities.

A commercial loan officer, Beckwith cited his experience as being important to maintaining continuity on the board.

Gilpin, 41, had said he would bring a common sense approach to the board and would continue to support current school system administration in place.

Gray said his campaign platform was "for the kids, for the employees, for the community, for the future."

Finishing fifth was David L. Woods, 77, of Hedgesville with 2,478 votes, followed by Pam Brush, 57, of Martinsburg (2,179), Eric Gates, 42, of Martinsburg (2,037), Art Thomm II, 33, of Martinsburg, (1,607) Andrew D. Michael, 59, of Hedgesville (1,549) and Bucky E. Strauch, 44, of Martinsburg (1,146).

The winning school board members will take office on July 1.

Berkeley County Board of Education

Adam Stephen District

Bucky E. Strauch 1,146

Norborne District

x Todd M. Beckwith (i) 3,841

Potomac District

Eric Gates 2,037

x Ron Gray 2,994

x Richard A. Pill (i) 6,388

Tuscarora District

Pam Brush 2,179

Arthur W. Thomm II 1,607

x Darin L. Gilpin 3,819

Valley District

Andrew D. Michael 1,549

David L. Woods 2,478

With 66 of 66 precincts reporting

x-signifies winners

The Herald-Mail Articles