Two incumbents, one newcomer win Morgan board of ed seats

May 12, 2010

BERKELEY SPRINGS, W.Va. -- Two incumbents and one newcomer were elected to the Morgan County Board of Education in Tuesday's primary election, according to complete but unofficial results.

Incumbent winners were David Ambrose, with 1,163 votes, and Eric Kidwell, with 716 votes, according to complete but unofficial results. Newcomer Aaron Close gathered 1,320votes.

Three seats were up for grabs on the five-member board. No more than two members from the same district may be elected.

Ambrose, 62, of 3010 Johnsons Mill Road in Berkeley Springs, resides in Magisterial District 3 and will begin his second four-year term July 1.


Close, 29, of 90 Chickadee Way in Berkeley Springs, also resides in Magisterial District 3.

Kidwell, 35, of P.O. Box 651 in Paw Paw, W.Va., resides in District 1. Kidwell was appointed by the Board of Education last May after former member Margaret Zembower resigned.

Board member Larry Omps holds the second seat in District 1.

Rounding out the candidates were Tim Seims with241votes, John Westerfeldwith 254 votes, Jennifer Wolfewith 312votes and Sheila Vinson with 350 votes.

-- Trish Rudder

Morgan County Board of Education

  • District 3

    David Ambrose 1,163votes

    Aaron Close 1,320votes

  • District 1

    Eric Kidwell 716votes

    Tim Seims241votes

    John Westerfeld254 votes

    Jennifer Wolfe312votes

  • District 2

    Sheila Vinson350 votes

The Herald-Mail Articles