Jernigan, Lushbaugh elected to Smithsburg council

May 11, 2010|By DAN DEARTH

SMITHSBURG -- Smithsburg residents selected a mayor and two new council members during Tuesday's town election.

Troy Jernigan and Tyler R. Lushbaugh were elected to fill the council seats of Dennis "Jack" Wenthe and Charles "Bud" Lucassen.

Neither Wenthe nor Lucassen filed to run for another term.

Mayor Mildred "Mickey" Myers will serve her fourth term after running unopposed. She received 83 votes, Town Clerk Betsy Martin said.

Jernigan received 67 votes, while 61 people voted for Lushbaugh, Martin said.

Also running in the council race were Lisa Linthicum and Tammy Sue Drury.

Linthicum placed third with 46 votes, Martin said. Drury collected 36 votes.

Martin said residents were permitted to cast one vote for mayor and two votes for the town council.

She said 115 residents cast ballots.

The winning candidates will be sworn in May 25 to serve four-year terms, Martin said.

The Herald-Mail Articles