Chirgott sworn in as assistant mayor of Funkstown

May 11, 2010|By JULIE E. GREENE

FUNKSTOWN -- Longtime Funkstown Town Councilwoman Sharon Chirgott was sworn in as assistant mayor at Monday night's meeting.

Chirgott filled the position Paul N. Crampton Jr. held before he was sworn in as mayor the same night. Chirgott's term has two years remaining.

Chirgott, Crampton, Town Clerk/Treasurer Brenda Haynes and former Councilwoman Betty Mongan all said they believe Chirgott is the first woman to serve as assistant mayor for Funkstown. Mongan was a council member in the late 1980s.

Chirgott, 63, said she was excited and had served on the council long enough to know the "ins and outs."

Town Council members John Phillips III, Richard Nigh and Richard L. Gaver voted 3-0 to make Chirgott assistant mayor, Haynes said. Chirgott and Councilman Kim Ramer abstained.


Asked after the meeting why he abstained, Ramer had no comment.

Chirgott was appointed to the Town Council in September 1986 to fill her husband John's term on the council after he was voted to replace the resigning assistant mayor, Tom Wilhelm, according to Herald-Mail archives.

Chirgott has served on the council since then.

She is a career technology education and student service learning resource teacher based at the Washington County Board of Education's Central Office. Chirgott taught science at Northern Middle School from 1981 to 1997 and was president of the Washington County Teachers Association from 1997 to 2001, she said.

During the May 3 election, Nigh was re-elected to a council seat and Gaver won his first term as a councilman. Both were sworn in for four-year terms Monday night by Washington County Circuit Court Clerk Dennis Weaver.

The Herald-Mail Articles