YOU ARE HERE: HeraldMail HomeCollectionsSems

Awards banquet recognizes members of Smithsburg EMS

May 04, 2010

The Smithsburg Emergency Medical Service (SEMS) annual awards banquet was held Feb. 27 at Savoy Catering Service in Waynesboro, Pa.

During 2009, SEMS volunteers responded to 1,125 calls for service, but also logged a total of 16,502 hours of volunteer service by 37 active members, according to a news release from Deputy Chief James Ulrich.

The top 10 members with logged hours of service and the most call responses were recognized, as well as the following:

o Advanced Life Support provider (Medic/Paramedic) of the year: (tie) Garrett Snyder and Jon Snyder

o Basic Life Support provider (emergency medical technician) of the year: James Ulrich

o Aider of the year (student/not yet certified): Mike Arnold

o Chief's award: Justin Ruppenthal

o President's award: Donnie Bolyard

o Unsung Hero of the Year: Shaun McDonough

A special presentation was made to EMT-B Shaun McDonough. McDonough is active military and received word he would be reassigned away from the SEMS family. He has a passion for EMS and helping people in general, and hopes to one day return to the Smithsburg area.


The top 10 members in volunteer responses for the year were:

1. Brian House (323)

2. James Ulrich (199)

3. Barry Gipp Jr. (172)

4. Thomas Benjamin (154)

5. Andy Smith (119)

6. Jon Snyder (113)

7. Melvin Smith (99)

8. Shaun McDonough (92)

9. Justin Ruppenthal (72)

10. Barry Gipp Sr. (67)

The Herald-Mail Articles