Jonathan Hager Society CAR chapter marks 50th year

December 20, 2009

The Jonathan Hager Society, Children of the American Revolution celebrated its 50th anniversary at a meeting of the Conococheague Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution on Dec. 8.

Courtney Conrad, honorary past president, presented a plaque to Diane Sanford, regent, Conococheague Chapter and Ruann George, regent, Maryland State Chapter of the DAR in honor of the occasion and to thank them for 50 years of sponsorship.

The society, which was formally organized and chartered on June 21, 1959, conducted its first meeting on Saturday afternoon, July 25, 1959 at the Washington County Museum of Fine Arts.

Presiding officers at the initial session were Richard Clay Snyder, president; Charlotte Marie Smeak, secretary; Robert Martin Jr., treasurer; Lynn Dee Phillips, chaplain; Rebecca Ann Shingleton, corresponding secretary, and Frederica Ann Arnold, historian.


The society consisted of 20 organizing members and seven charter members.

The organizing members were Rebecca Ann Shingleton, Richard Clay Snyder, Robert Lee Snyder, Roy Allen Leiter III, Michael Patton Leiter, Lindsay Diane Leiter, Peter Andrew Leiter, Samuel Edgar Phillips III, Lynn Dee Phillips, Mark Marion Heatwole, Eric Leiter Heatwole, Kirk Andrew Heatwole, Lynda Lew Leiter, Robert Edward Martin Jr.; Alice Foster Mumma, Linda Elizabeth Covell, Frederica Ann Arnold, Charlotte Marie Smeak, Nancy Elizabeth Smeak and Barbara Ann Smeak.

Charter members were Samuel Lewis Gordon, Ann Elizabeth Gordon, Patricia Cutshall Smith, Janet Conover Smith, Davis Hall Shingleton, Jefferson Gordon Shingleton and John Warren Shingleton.

Mrs. Walter S. Snyder was senior president, and Mrs. Robert E. Martin and Mrs. Rodger Guise were assistants.

The National Society, Children of the American Revolution was founded in 1895 when Harriett Lothrop, a prominent citizen and 19th century children's author of Concord, Maine, presented the idea for a children's organization to the Daughters of the American Revolution Continental Congress in 1895. It was then chartered by the U.S. Congress. Organized "for the training of young people in true patriotism and love of country," CAR has promoted this vision to hundreds of thousands of members. These boys and girls are the leaders of yesterday, today and tomorrow, now in a second century of keeping patriotism alive.

CAR, the nation's oldest, largest, patriotic youth organization, offers membership to anyone younger than 21, lineally descended from someone who rendered material aid to the cause of American independence as a soldier, sailor, civil officer, or recognized patriot in one of the several colonies or states, or of the United States.

The Jonathan Hager Society CAR is currently under the leadership of Rebecca Conrad, senior society president.

The society is trying to locate former members for some future events. Anyone interested in joining the CAR can go to

The Herald-Mail Articles