Martinsburg CAP squadron wins awards at state banquet

November 30, 2009

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - The 68th annual West Virginia Wing Civil Air Patrol Conference and Banquet was held recently in Charleston.

Among the estimated 230 attendees were eight cadets and eight senior members from the Martinsburg Composite Squadron.

The conference included many educational opportunities, including seminars on drug demand reduction, safety, flight operations and public affairs.

The guest speaker was Brig. Gen. James A. Hoyer, director, Joint Staff, West Virginia National Guard Joint Forces Headquarters.

During the course of the evening, Hoyer presented Cadet Col. Mark R. Guiney of the Martinsburg squadron with the cadet program's highest award, the Gen. Carl A Spaatz Award. It is estimated that only about five out of 1,000 cadets who join CAP will achieve the Spaatz Award during their service as cadets. Along with the award, the cadet receives a promotion to cadet colonel

Guiney, a cadet since 2003, has earned numerous awards and commendations through his involvement in CAP, including the Gen. Ira Eaker Award, Commander's Commendation, Unit Citation, Air Force Association Award, VFW Outstanding Cadet Award and the Red Service Ribbon.


He served as commander of the 2008 cadet encampment, held annually at Camp Dawson, and he was also selected as the 2008 W.Va. Wing Cadet of the Year. He formerly served as the squadron's cadet commander and currently serves as the squadron cadet executive officer. Guiney attended the CAP National Cadet Officer's School at Maxwell AFB, Alabama, in 2007.

Guiney is a graduate of Jefferson High School in Shenandoah Junction, W.Va., and is a freshman at West Virginia University.

Guiney was recently awarded a $1,000 Academic Scholarship from the Civil Air Patrol.

During the awards ceremony, several members of the Martinsburg unit received awards and honors, including:

National Squadron of Merit - an annual award established to recognize the squadron in each Wing with the best cadet program.

Cadet of the Year - Cadet Col. David F. Hill, IV

Moral Leadership Officer of the Year - Capt. Gary W. Gourley

Cadet Programs Officer of the Year - Capt. Stephen L. Petty

Historian of the Year - Capt. Russell G. Voelker

Meritorious Service Award - 1st Lt. Dirk A. Stansbury

USAF Torch Award - Guiney and Col. Dennis Barron

Commander's Commendations - Capt. Stephen L. Petty and 1st Lt. R. Adam Sanders

CAP Achievement Award - Guiney, Hill, Cadet Capt. Christopher R. Frey, Cadet 2nd Lt. R. Joel Lyons, Cadet Master Sgt. Caleb T. Sullivan, Cadet Staff Sgt. Ty A. Stansbury, Cadet 2nd Lt. Jonah E. Rock, Lt. Col. Robert V. Mills, 2nd Lt. Christine R. Shields, 1st Lt. R. Adam Sanders and 1st Lt. Dirk A. Stansbury.

Wright Bros. Award - Cadet Staff Sgt. Ty A. Stansbury, for completion of phase I of the CAP cadet program.

Cadet Quiz Bowl Winners - Cadet 2nd Lt, Andrew F. Mitchell and Cadet Staff Sgt. Timothy W. Dye

The Herald-Mail Articles