Rams edge West Liberty, 74-71

November 24, 2009


WEST LIBERTY, W.Va. -- Camille Wilmer had 17 points and five rebounds for Shepherd on Tuesday night in the Rams' 74-71 WVIAC victory over West Liberty (2-2, 0-1).

Katie Biggs had 16 points and five rebounds, Shelby Fayak had 12 points, eight rebounds and three blocks, Jenn Prine had 12 points, seven rebounds and seven assists and Jerica Hewett had seven points, nine rebounds and four assists for the Rams (2-1, 1-0).


West Liberty 107, Shepherd 76

SHEPHERDSTOWN, W.Va. -- Chad Moore had game highs of 22 points and 14 rebounds, but Shepherd lost to West Liberty (4-0, 1-0) in WVIAC action.

Tyrone Roach had 16 points, Dave Karlson had a double-double with 13 points and 11 rebounds, Aeron Spencer had 10 points and Derek Gallagher had eight points and 11 rebounds for the Rams (0-3, 0-1).



Hall gets all-region honors

SHEPHERDSTOWN, W.Va. -- Shepherd's Amanda Hall was named to a pair of All-Region teams.

Hall was a first-team selection on the Daktronics team and received an honorable mention in the American Volleyball Coaches Association NCAA Division II Atlantic All-Region team.

Hall recorded 385 kills, 180 digs, 103 blocks (29 solo), 17 aces and 15 assists for the Rams this year.


Rams' Steele named to first team

WEST CHESTER, Pa. -- Shepherd junior return specialist Deante Steele was named to the 2009 Daktronics Division II All-Super Region I first team for the second straight year.

Steele ranked third nationally in punt returns with a 17.0 average and eighth in kickoff returns with 28.89 average. He had six return touchdowns (three punt returns, two kickoff returns and an interception return) this season to tie an NCAA II record, while his 10 career kick return touchdowns tied the NCAA II career mark.


Fox's Orange race at nationals

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. -- Syracuse University, coached by former Hagerstown resident Chris Fox, finished 14th in the men's team standings and 18th in the women's Monday at the NCAA Division I championships.

Fox also recently was named the Northeast Region Coach of the Year for both men and women. He led both teams to their first region titles in program history.


All-MVAL Antietam

First Team

Boonsboro -- Alison Griffith; Clear Spring -- Lindsay Lacy, Lily Pinkham; North Hagerstown -- Akilah McCall, Megan Plume; Smithsburg -- Taylor Belella, Colleen Black, Sara Rishell, Katie Sprecher; South Hagerstown -- Rebecca Pearl.

Second Team

Boonsboro -- Rebecca Demers; Clear Spring -- Hannah House, Megan Micco, Breanne Purdham; North Hagerstown -- Anna Wade; Smithsburg -- Danielle Beaver, Paige Decker, Mallory Petty; South Hagerstown -- Morgan McCoy; Williamsport -- Samantha Kelly, Trisha Leigh.

Honorable Mention

Boonsboro -- Macy Fuscsick, Tiffany Rohrer; Catoctin -- Devan Dewees, Karly Moore; South Hagerstown -- Emma Stahl, Megan Vance.


Pee Wee Division

Hagerstown 3, Bowie 0

Hagerstown: Michael Smith, Quin Ambeault, Hunter Hardisty goal, assist each; Dalton Snyder 26 saves.

The Herald-Mail Articles