HCC men 13th at nationals

November 14, 2009


PEORIA, Ill. -- The Hagerstown Community College men placed 13th out of 35 teams at the NJCAA Division I championships Saturday.

Jeremiah Wilt led the Hawks on the 8K course. He placed 30th out of 259 runners in 26:33 to earn Coaches' All-American status.

Also for HCC, Corey Centofonti was 48th (27:05), Wade Miller was 64th (27:28), Brandon Mauck was 103rd (28:05), Rio Ferrario was 152nd (28:57), Nathanial Clark was 162nd (29:06) and D.J. Watson was 221st (30:55).

Stephen Sambu won the race in 24:00 for Rend Lake, which edged Paradise Valley 66-68 for the team title.

Shank earns all-region honors

BETHLEHEM, Pa. -- Elizabethtown College freshman Taryn Shank, a North Hagerstown graduate, placed 19th out of 311 runners in the NCAA Division III Mideast women's championships.


Shank, who covered the 6K course in 22:43.5, earned all-region honors and helped Elizabethtown finish sixth out of 44 teams.

Williamsport graduate Tracey Forsythe finished 77th in 24:04.7 for 18th-place Delaware Valley.


Two Rams make All-WVIAC team

Shepherd University players Lauren Gardner and Amanda Hall were selected to the All-West Virginia Conference Tournament squad on Saturday. The Rams lost in the semifinals on Friday.


Ladies win Turkey Shoot

The team of Benny Bratthauar, Tracy Fuller, Chris Randall and Robin Twigg became the Turkey Shoot shootout champions on Saturday at Fountain Head Country Club in an alternate-shot format.

Twigg hit a tee shot that landed 15 feet from the hole and Fuller drained the winning putt.

The winning team in each flight participated in the shootout.

Fountain Head members donated 983 food items totaling more than 1,000 pounds, as well as 574 articles of clothing.

First flight -- 1. Rich Blake, Paul Giannaris, Paul Mellott, Brian Mellott (29); 2. Mark Freeman, Joe Minahan, Craig O'Connor, Doug Reichert (31).

Second flight -- 1. Phil Carrasco, Jeff Warren, Gail Wolfe, Gary Wright (30); 2. Chris Bushey, Cindy Millsop, Elaine Morris, Lois Roulette (31).

Third flight -- 1. Benny Bratthauar, Tracy Fuller, Chris Randall, Robin Twigg (33); 2. Mike Attardi, Cybil Attardi, Jan Cirincione, Bob Cirincione (33)

Overall winners -- Bratthauar, Fuller, Randall, Twigg.

The Herald-Mail Articles