Hubs swept in 2A West semifinals

November 12, 2009


UNION BRIDGE, Md. -- The North Hagerstown volleyball team has seen competition this tough.

 Still, the Hubs weren't quite ready for it Wednesday night.

 "Smithsburg," said North coach Megan Crawford, answering whether or not Francis Scott Key is the best team her squad has played this season. "We just weren't on it tonight. FSK is a really good team and they pound the ball. We weren't there to get our blocks up and that's basically the gist of it."

 The gist resulted in a 25-16, 25-12, 25-12 victory for the Eagles (22-1) to land them in the Maryland Class 2A West region final.

 The lopsided result had just as much to do with North's subpar play as FSK's imposing attack, according to Crawford, whose team was at least formidable in a loss to Smithsburg last month -- the same Smithsburg team that defeated FSK in five games earlier in its unbeaten season.


"This match was over in an hour, so that pretty much sums it up," Crawford said. "We just didn't have it."

 The Hubs end their season at 11-5.


Wildcats' Whitmore on all-state team

WILLIAMSPORT -- Wildcats midfielder Bryan Whitmore has been selected to the Maryland All-State team as an honorable mention pick.

Whitmore, an All-Area First Team honoree in 2008, had seven goals and five assists this season for Williamsport, which reached the Maryland Class 1A West final for the second straight season.

All-MVAL Antietam

First Team

Boonsboro -- Jake Spence; Brunswick -- Devin Crisholm, Shawn Anderson; Catoctin -- Matt Eyler; Clear Spring -- Gavin Myers, Devin Repp; North Hagerstown -- Max Psillas, Frederick Owusu-Ayim, Nelson Moreno; Smithsburg -- Joey Barvir; South Hagerstown -- Ben Stone; Williamsport -- Bryan Whitmore, Mark Oliver, Alex Aleshire.

Second Team

Boonsboro -- Josh Haden; Brunswick -- Drew Howard, Drew Denich; Catoctin -- Colin Vite; Clear Spring -- Mathew Blair, Alec Long; North Hagerstown -- Dino Gilmanov, Tyler Sterling, Alex Henry; Smithsburg -- Dan Hallman; South Hagerstown -- Andrew Rodgers; Williamsport -- Connor Arnone, Jordan Payne, Cody Gardenhour.

Honorable Mention

Boonsboro -- Paul Jordan, Tommy Prunty; Brunswick -- Kevin Wilson, Nathaniel Eiber; Catoctin -- Alec Owens, Ben Tylicki; Clear Spring -- Blake Vincent, Ryan Cooper; North Hagerstown -- Andre Graham, Tiago DeSouza; Smithsburg -- Jeremy Boyd, Brent Dudley; South Hagerstown -- Kenny Steward, Zach Smith; Williamsport -- Daniel Doub, Chad Ridenour.


Hawks place two on Maryland JuCo first team

Hagerstown Community College outside hitters Rebecca Morgan and Julia Becker were named to the All-Maryland JuCo first team on Monday.

Setter Ashlyn Rebok was named to the second team.

The Herald-Mail Articles