Clear Spring mayor, council members re-elected

November 02, 2009|By DAN DEARTH

CLEAR SPRING -- The Clear Spring mayor and two Town Council members who ran unopposed Monday during the town election received 19 votes each.

Mayor Paul D. Hose Jr., and council members Carol Hovermale and Theodore Hovermale will be sworn in at the December council meeting, Hose said.

They will start their two-year terms on Jan. 1.

Hose said Monday that he doesn't have an agenda.

"We just want to keep the town running as well as we can," he said.

Theodore Hovermale said the next year will be a tough one economically because the state and county governments will cut financial aid to municipal governments.

He said he is hoping for a mild winter to reduce snow-removal costs.

At this point, Hovermale said he doesn't believe town officials will impose a tax increase to compensate for the state and county funding cuts.


"Not right now," he said. "That's something we're going to have to discuss."

Carol Hovermale could not be reached for comment.

Vice Mayor Steven L. Blickenstaff and Councilwoman Pamela M. Sasser will be up for re-election next year, Town Clerk Juanita Grimm said.

She said Monday's election was from 2 to 7 p.m. at Town Hall.

The mayor earns $100 per month, Grimm said. Council members earn $60 per month.

The Herald-Mail Articles