Voters head to polls Tuesday in Pa.

November 01, 2009|By JENNIFER FITCH

WAYNESBORO, Pa. -- Representatives on school boards, borough councils, boards of township supervisors and judicial benches will be chosen Tuesday when voters visit the polls from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. during Pennsylvania's municipal election.

In Franklin County, contested races are most plentiful in the Waynesboro, Mercersburg and Greencastle areas. Candidates are running for Waynesboro Borough Council, Waynesboro Area School Board, Tuscarora School Board, Greencastle Borough Council, Greencastle-Area School Board and Antrim Township Supervisors.

Countywide, voters will be choosing two new judges for the 39th District of the Court of Common Pleas. Only two candidates, Shawn Meyers and Angela Krom, moved past the spring's primary election.

Voters in Hamilton, Letterkenny, Lurgan, Fannett and Metal townships will select between David Plum and Carol Anne Redding for a new magisterial district judge in District 39-3-03.


One polling place in Metal Township has changed.

Voters in Metal 3, who cast their choices at Fannett-Metal Elementary School, should instead go to Brindle Auctioneering at 12625 Path Valley Road in Willow Hill, Franklin County Deputy Chief Clerk Jean Byers said.

Voter turnout for 2007's municipal election was 26 percent.

n In Waynesboro borough, the only contested race for borough council is in the First Ward, which includes all homes east of Church Street.

Downtown businessman Wayne Driscoll, a Republican, and Tiffany (Hodge) Shindledecker, a Democrat, are seeking the seat held for 12 years by Charles "Chip" McCammon. He did not obtain enough votes in the primary to move onto this week's election for a four-year term.

n The Waynesboro Area School Board elects by region. Incumbent Leland Lemley is unopposed in the North End, but there are contested races for seats in Washington Township and the Borough of Waynesboro.

Chris Lind, a Republican, and incumbent Gregory Ochoa, a Democrat, are running in Washington Township for one four-year term.

Bonnie Bachtell, Stephanie Kober and Brenda Lucas, all Democrats, are seeking to be chosen for two seats for four-year terms. Lucas will appear on ballots as a Republican because she won that party's nomination in the spring.

n In the Mercersburg area, Republicans Larry E. Funk, Erich Hawbaker, Jon Heebner, Harold Hunsberger and Donnie Piper are running for four four-year terms on the Tuscarora School Board. Funk and Piper are incumbents.

Tom Black is running unopposed for the single two-year term on the Tuscarora School Board.

n In Greencastle borough, five seats are open on the seven-member Greencastle Borough Council. Incumbents Charles Eckstine, Mark Singer, Michele Emmett, Harry Foley and Craig Myers are running, as is political newcomer Matthew D. Smith.

There are four-year and two-year terms up for grabs.

n Four Greencastle-Antrim School Board seats with four-year terms will be filled through the election.

Incumbents Michael Shindle and G. William Thorne are running for re-election. Challengers are Don Richards, Joel Fridgen and Brian Hissong.

n In Antrim Township, three people are looking to be selected for two positions on the board of supervisors.

Incumbents James Byers and Fred Young will appear on ballots along with John Alleman. All are registered Republicans, but Alleman will be listed as a Democrat because he won that party's nomination in May.

n Other races include Democrat William D. Butts and Republican Allen Twigg for jury commissioner; Democrat Tim Kyler and Republican Matthew Funk for Montgomery Township Supervisor; and Democrat Frank Stearn and Republican Dennis L. Welsh Jr. for St. Thomas Township Supervisor.

Judge Carol Van Horn is up for a retention vote. Voters will be asked to vote "yes" or "no" on whether she should be retained for another 10 years in the 39th District of the Court of Common Pleas.

The Herald-Mail Articles