Faculty members honored for academic excellence

October 25, 2009

Faculty members from six institutions of higher learning in Washington County were honored Friday night during the second annual Academic Excellence in Higher Education Awards at Fountain Head Country Club.

Representatives from each of the institutions selected their honoree or honorees based on criteria set by the individual institution.

Receiving awards were:

Hagerstown Community College

  • Ted Guarriello, adjunct instructor of industrial technology

  • Judith Peison, math and science full-time faculty member

    Kaplan University

  • Anita Fetzer, adjunct instructor in the phlebotomy program

    Frostburg State University

  • Nancy Witmer, faculty member in the FSU music department and instructor of a master of arts in teaching course at the University System of Maryland-Hagerstown

  • Randall Rhodes, assistant dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and faculty member of the master of arts in teaching program at USM-H

    Salisbury University

  • Kim Van Vulpen, field placement coordinator

    Towson University

  • Dr. Marilyn Halstead, associate professor in the department of nursing

    University of Maryland University College

  • Jacelyn A. McDonnell, criminal justice faculty

The Herald-Mail Articles