Clear Spring mayor, council members to run unopposed

October 05, 2009|By DAN DEARTH

CLEAR SPRING -- The Clear Spring mayor and two members of the Town Council will run unopposed in the Nov. 2 election.

Mayor Paul D. Hose Jr. and council members Carol Hovermale and Theodore Hovermale were the only candidates who filed by the deadline at 9 p.m. Monday to run in the upcoming town election, Town Clerk Juanita Grimm said.

All three seats, which carry two-year terms, are up for grabs.

The Clear Spring election will be Nov. 2 from 2 to 7 p.m. at Town Hall.

Hose said he was first elected to serve as mayor in 1984. Since then, Hose has served off and on for 24 years.

"I just figured I'd try it again," Hose said of running for another term.

Hose said one of the biggest challenges will be trying to keep things running if Washington County officials cut financial aid to municipalities.


"We're hearing even our tax differential is going to be cut out," Hose said.

A tax differential is a tax rebate that municipalities receive from the county.

The Hovermales could not be reached for comment.

Grimm said the newly elected mayor and members of the council will take office Jan. 1, 2010.

The mayor earns $100 per month, Grimm said. Council members earn $60 per month.

The seats of Vice Mayor Steven L. Blickenstaff and Councilwoman Pamela M. Sasser will be up for reelection next year.

The Herald-Mail Articles