Tri-State students named National Merit semifinalists

September 28, 2009

EVANSTON, Ill. -- The National Merit Scholarship Corp. named approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 55th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

The high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 8,200 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $36 million, that will be offered next spring.

The following area students were named semifinalists:


Hagerstown -- Matthew S. Shives, homeschool student; Elizabeth L. Kramer, North Hagerstown High School; Jason A. Camarano, South Hagerstown High School.

Frederick -- Amy M. Zheng, Tuscarora High School

Middletown -- Carli Anne Gesiotto, Middletown High School; Lauren E. Kirkwood, Middletown High School

Smithsburg -- Anna M. Baldasarre, Smithsburg High School

Saint James -- Robert M. Brooks, Saint James School


Waynesboro -- Nathan C. Goldman, Waynesboro Area Senior High School

West Virginia

Charles Town -- Elizabeth A. Cuevas, Washington High School; Hillary A. Leach, Washington High School


Hedgesville ­-- Amanda K. Baker, Hedgesville High School

Inwood -- Chad A. White, Musselman High School

Martinsburg -- John C. Bieniek, Martinsburg High School; Shelby M. Johnson, Martinsburg High School; Matthew J. Van Dongen, Martinsburg High School

Shenandoah Junction -- Keith P. Berkeley, Jefferson High School

The Herald-Mail Articles