Clear Spring math teacher recognized

September 15, 2009|By DAN DEARTH

Jamie Mason was recognized Tuesday as the Golden Apple Awards Teacher of the Year for 2009-10 during a Washington County Board of Education meeting.

Mason is a math teacher at Clear Spring Middle School.

Teacher of the Year finalists were:

o Sara Belin, a fifth-grade teacher at Bester Elementary School

o Amber Madigan, a math teacher at Smithsburg Middle School

o Kevin Seburn, a science teacher at Washington County Technical High School

o David Warrenfeltz, a math teacher at North Hagerstown High School

o Tracey Wolbert, a first-grade teacher at Salem Avenue Elementary School

o Amy Yingling, a French teacher at Springfield Middle School

"These teachers represent the best of the best," Schools Superintendent Elizabeth Morgan said during the meeting. "These are really some of our best folks."


Richard Wright, spokesman for Washington County Public Schools, said Mason was named Teacher of the Year in April.

The award carried a $500 prize.

The Herald-Mail Articles