Area Roundup

August 16, 2009


Tour de Millersburg

MILLERSBURG, Pa. -- Tim Lung, 53, of Hagerstown, placed fifth overall in the Masters 45-plus age division at the 30th annual Tour de Millersburg.

On Saturday, Lung finished 10th in the 9.5-mile time trial (22:10) and eighth in the 20-mile criterium. On Sunday, he took fourth in the 54-mile road race (2:19:07).

Mike Spinnler, 50, of Hagerstown, tied for 14th place. He placed sixth in the time trial (21:50), 17th in the criterium and 16th in the road race (2:19:17).


In the Pro I/II/III race, George Gonoung, 38, of Hedgesville, W.Va., placed 13th overall out of 75 riders. He was the runner-up in the 9.5-mile time trial (19:37). The Pro criterium was 35 miles and the road race was 90 miles.

Also in the Pro division, Brian Fouche, 26, of Hagerstown, placed 32nd in the time trial (21:13) and 30th in the criterium, but he failed to finish the road race.

Overall results were based on points accumulated from each stage.


Fuller rules Outlaws

Tim Fuller won his fourth straight World of Outlaws race on Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway to claim the $10,000 first-place prize.

Fuller, winning all four races since he started the streak on July 25 at the Sharon (Ohio) Speedway, beat out Josh Richards in the 50-lap pursuit by 2.59 seconds.

Fuller's fourth win tied Rick Eckert for the WOO record. He took the lead on the seventh lap and never relinquished the lead.

Hans Stamberg, of Hedgesville, W.Va., came from an 18th starting spot to win the pure stock feature for his seventh win of the season.

World of Outlaws Late Model Series

50 laps, 43 entries

1. Tim Fuller; 2. Josh Richards; 3. Jason Covert; 4. D.J. Myers; 5. Shane Clanton; 6. Gary Stuhler; 7. Nick Dickson; 8. Austin Hubbard; 9. Vic Coffey; 10. Steve Francis; 11. Frankie Plessinger; 12. Jim Yoder; 13. Brady Smith; 14. Rick Eckert; 15. Jordan Bland; 16. Darryl Hills; 17. Darrell Lanigan; 18. Russell King; 19. Les Hare; 20. Chub Frank; 21. Andy Anderson; 22. Ronnie DeHaven Jr. ; 23. Jeremy Miller; 24. Clint Smith; 25. Roy Deese Jr.

Ernie's Auto Enterprises Pure Stocks

15 laps,  23 entries

1. Hans Stamberg; 2. Bobby Franklin; 3. Mike Warrenfeltz; 4. Danny Beavers; 5. Kevin Boyer; 6. Steve Lowery; 7. Bobby Taylor; 8. Darrin Younker; 9. Charlie Pensinger; 10. Kevin Keefer; 11. Billy Ecton Jr.; 12. Kevin Koontz; 13. Frank Dibella; 14. Kenny Day; 15. Sherman Lynn; 16. Wayne Hawbaker; 17. Kenny Dillon; 18. Dave Stouffer Jr.; 19. Bill Ecton; 20. Zack Reid.

The Herald-Mail Articles