Troop 26 holds Court of Honor, honors members

August 15, 2009

On July 27, a Court of Honor was held at St. Mark's Lutheran Church in Hagerstown for Boy Scout Troop 26.

The ceremony was preceded by dinner and a presentation by Mark Barbowitz, from Friends of Scouting.

Scoutmaster John R. Kauffman and Troop 26 committee chairman Larry Lane presided over the Court of Honor.

The ceremony began with the Pledge of Allegiance, Scout Oath and a prayer led by Pastor Thomas Perry.

Kauffman and Kenneth Carpenter received the Brotherhood of The Order of the Arrow on May 9.

Kenneth Carpenter and Jared Weaver advanced to Life Scout rank. Tyler Johnson, Ryan Johnson, Devon Hall and Keith Livingston advanced to Second Class rank. Richie Dobson and Cody Bitner advanced to Tenderfoot rank.

Receiving merit badges were:

Kenneth Carpenter - Cycling, Communications, Citizenship in the Nation, Mammal Study and Electricity

Jared Weaver - Swimming, Citizenship in the Nation, Mammal Study and Communications


Richie Dobson - First Aid and Leatherwork

Cameron Cross - Mammal Study and Climbing

Devon Hall - Shotgun, Cooking, Totin-Chip and Fireman Chip

Keith Livingston - Insect Study, Rifle and Leatherwork

Isaiah Marcum - First Aid

Michael Ringler - Climbing and Mammal Study

John Holland - Camping, Cooking and Totin-Chip

Kiran Myers - Totin-Chip

Alex Trumpower - Climbing, Mammal Study and Cycling

A certificate of appreciation was presented to Pastor Perry for his leadership on recent bike rides.

Certificates of appreciation were also given to Adam Turner, Anthony Holmes, Mike Holland and Tom Livingston for their leadership during the week of summer camp and Sinoquipe.

Troop 26 won the volleyball championship at summer camp the week of July 12 to 18.

A special thanks was given to all of the parents who provided support.

The ceremony ended with the Scout Promise.

The Herald-Mail Articles