Paramount Pack 103 Webelo Scouts cross over to Boy Scouts

August 15, 2009

Webelo Scouts all strive to earn the Arrow of Light, the highest award in Cub Scouts. The Webelos must earn a minimum of eight activity pins, including three required pins; visit troops; participate in a troop activity; learn the Boy Scout oath, law and learn of the history of Boy Scouts all in preparation to join a Boy Scout troop.

Pack 103 Paramount Webelo Scouts recently earned the Arrow of Light and received the award at the Mason-Dixon Council Service Center. The boys also crossed the bridge from Cub Scouts to Boy Scouts and were greeted by their new Scoutmasters.

The new Boy Scouts joined the following troops:

Ben Forrest - Troop 8, Hagerstown

Lee Russell - Troop 64, Maugansville

John Emswiler - Troop 108, Leitersburg

Tanner Creek - Troop 05, Hagerstown

Colin Hutzel - Troop 8, Hagerstown

Charlie Valle - Troop 05, Hagerstown

Jack Riess portrayed Akeila, who all Cub Scouts follow. Akeila represents parents, teachers, scout leaders, etc. who are positive influences on young people. The Akeila walks the boy from the Cub Scout side of the bridge to the Boy Scout side of the bridge to meet the new Scoutmaster.


Pack 103 is sponsored by the Longmeadow Rotary Club.

The Herald-Mail Articles