17 county grads to be honored by sports Hall of Fame

July 16, 2009

Seventeen Washington County high school graduates will be honored Saturday at the 23rd annual Washington County Sports Hall of Fame banquet at Elks Lodge No. 378 on Robinwood Drive in Hagerstown.

Among the awards to be presented:

  • Harry Cunningham Male Athlete of the Year -- Billy Lawrence, Smithsburg

  • Sara "Skip" Ward Female Athlete of the Year -- Cayla Broadwater, Williamsport; Marissa Luipersbeck, Smithsburg

  • Robert "Turtle" Smith Baseball Scholarship -- Jordan Thurber, Clear Spring; J.J. O'Neill, St. Maria Goretti

  • Franklin "Wimp" Hamburg Male Scholarship -- Kyle Orndorff, Smithsburg

  • Franklin "Wimp" Hamburg Female Scholarship -- Shawnda Wills and Bethany Bowman, Hancock

  • Millie Shank Academic-Athletic Scholarship -- Alyssa Collier, North Hagerstown

  • Hugh H. Schindel Family Trust Scholarship -- Jessie Kisner, Clear Spring

  • Nick Adenhart Memorial Scholarship -- Josh Conway, Smithsburg

  • Carroll Reid Jr. Scholarship, sponsored by the Cumberland Valley Athletic Club -- Mike Lilley, Williamsport

  • James F. Binau Sportsman Scholarship -- Matt Whitcraft, St. James

  • Aaron "Major" Steiner Golf Scholarship -- Haeun Lee, Smithsburg

  • Gregg Delauney President's Scholarship -- Amanda Jenkins, Clear Spring

  • Board Of Director's Choice Award -- Jeb Slick and Bethany Garnand, Smithsburg

    The Hall of Fame Class of 2009 includes Chris Fox, Rick Knepper, Gwynn (Gordon) Rodemsky and Mike Spinnler.


Career achievement, civic and service awards also will be presented.

The evening will begin with a social hour at 5:30 p.m. Dinner will be served at about 6:30, with the induction ceremonies to follow.

Tickets must be purchased in advance. For tickets, contact Millie Shank at 301-733-6988, Gregg Delauney at 240-675-1228, Andy Reid at 301-991-8238 or Rick Schultz at 301-790-3399.

The Herald-Mail Articles