Williamsport Rotary marks 25 years

July 14, 2009

WILLIAMSPORT -- The Williamsport Rotary Club celebrated its 25th charter anniversary recently at the Academy Theatre Convention and Banquet Center in Hagerstown.

Dr. Richard Young, a founding charter member and active member, was the master of ceremonies.

Special guests in attendance and presenting proclamations of recognition were Julianna Albowicz representing U.S. Sen. Barbara A. Mikulski, D-Md.; Sen. Don Munson, R-Washington; Del. Andrew Serafini, R-Washington; and Terry Baker, representing the Washington County Commissioners.

Shellie Davis was named Williamsport Rotarian of the Year for service above self.

Brian Sprankle, representing The Improved Order of Red Men Club Tribe No. 84, accepted the 2009 Community Service Award on behalf of the tribe for its significant contributions to the Williamsport community.

Two graduating Williamsport High School students, Molly Haas and Sean Walters, each accepted $1,000 scholarships.

Williamsport High School senior and Inneract President Casey Gaul was accompanied to the celebration by her parents, Curt and Peggy Gaul.


Williamsport Rotarians Terry Hill and Jeff Cline became Paul Harris Fellows, enabling the Williamsport Rotary to be a 100 percent sustaining Paul Harris Fellow member.

A sustaining member is an individual who contributes or in whose name is contributed a minimum of $100, with the commitment to contribute $1,000 within a 10-year period.

The installation of the 2009-10 officers was conducted by District Gov. Dr. Ronald E. Keyser. Also in attendance representing District 7350 was District Governor-elect Melinda Golden.

Officers for the new year are President Robert Kepner; Vice President Jeff Cline; Secretary Pastor Greg Martin; Treasurer Gary Finster; President-elect Colleen Winters; and Sergeant of Arms Terry Hill.

In addition, the following members will hold offices: Brent Bailey, Shellie Davis, Teri Leiter and Noel Williams.

The celebration concluded with the exchange of gavels from Past President Shannon Naylor to Kepner.

The Williamsport Rotary meets every Wednesday at 7:15 a.m. at The Improved Order of Red Men Club on Lappans Road in Williamsport. Guests are encouraged to attend.

The Herald-Mail Articles