USM-H Scholarship Fund names 10 school winners

July 13, 2009

University System of Maryland at Hagerstown awarded 10 scholarships recently at an awards ceremony in the USM-H lobby.

They were the first recipients of the USM-H Scholarship Fund. Each student received a $2,5000 scholarship for the 2009-10 academic year.

At the awards reception, David Warner, USM-H executive director, and Gaye McGovern, USM-H advisory board chair, congratulated each recipient and presented the students with free tickets to the Elizabethtowne Feaste and Frolic scholarship fundraiser dinner on Sept. 12. The scholarship funds were raised from the Feaste and Frolic fundraiser held in fall 2008, and similar funds will be raised from the fundraiser in September.

"USM-H is extremely pleased to be honoring these outstanding students with well-deserved scholarship funds. The funds were graciously raised through community support for our institution," Warner said.


"I would like to thank everyone who contributed to raising these funds. It is because of this support that these students will receive tuition assistance for their course work. With these funds, we are investing in our community's future. Congratulations to all the winners."

The USM-H Scholarship Fund recipients are:

  • Tiffany Adams, Frostburg State University, Master of Business Administration program

  • Sherry Beer, Frostburg State University, Bachelor's in Sociology program

  • Travis Brown, University of Maryland University College, Bachelor's in Criminal Justice program

  • Cassandra Coffman, Salisbury University, Bachelor's in Social Work program

  • Oliver Daley, University of Maryland, College Park, Master of Engineering in Systems Engineering program

  • Lorrie Dunn, Salisbury University, Master in Social Work program

  • Julie Eckenrode, Frostburg State University, Master of Arts in Teaching program

  • Joanna Hose, Frostburg State University, Bachelor's in Early Childhood/Elementary program

  • Wayne Keefer, Frostburg State University, Bachelor's in Business Administration

  • Shannon Sturtz, Frostburg State University, Master in Education with a concentration in special education program

The Herald-Mail Articles