Saint James School graduates 38 students

July 13, 2009

ST. JAMES -- Saint James School graduated 38 students at its commencement ceremonies May 31.

Listed are the graduates, their college choices and any awards they received:

  • Jordan Barr: Franklin and Marshall College; the 50th Anniversary Alumni Award for outstanding leadership

  • Nick Beardsley: St. Mary's College of Maryland

  • Spencer Draper: University of Maryland, College Park; David I. Barr Prize for sportsmanship and leadership in athletics; Mary Latrobe Onderdonk Memorial Prize for sound school citizenship

  • Stephan Dunbar: Coastal Carolina University

  • Ryan Duncan: Harvard University; cum laude; Prize for Excellence in Modern European History

  • Erick Fernandez: Boston College

  • Danielle Ford: Bryn Mawr College; cum laude; Excellence in Art, Excellence in Biology; Henry Kyd Douglas Prize for English Composition; Irving Society Prize for Creative Writing; Noble C. Powell Prize for creative exercise and outstanding contribution to change, development and progress at the school, while remaining faithful in its fundamental principles and purposes; Centennial Prize for making an outstanding contribution to the general welfare of the school

  • Sarah Gosling: Furman University; Multum Profecit Prize for broad interests with participation in a wide range of activities, all with commendable success

  • Alex Graham: Elon University

  • Sarah Henney: Grinnell College

  • Oliver Holt: New York University; Excellence in Music; Bowman-Byron Fine Arts Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts; Class of 1950 Award for Creativity

  • Jina Hontz: James Madison University

  • Bryan Hummel-Price: Colorado College; John C. Campbell Memorial Prize for most improvement in oral communication

  • James Itell: Elon University; A. Smith Bowman Prize for qualities of a gentleman

  • Somi Kim: University of Washington; cum laude; Margaret Aitken Pennington Prize for qualities of a lady

  • Patrick Knable: Gettysburg College

  • Se Young Lee: Furman University

  • Olubanke Martins: Princeton University; cum laude; MacLeod Prize for high ideals, faithfulness to duty, earnest endeavor and sound character; 2009 National Merit Scholarship

  • Grant McWilliams: Washington and Lee University

  • Anna Morrow: Sewanee: The University of the South

  • Juan Ortiz: Furman University

  • Jamie Phillips: College of Charleston

  • Gino Rosignano: Syracuse University

  • Alina Rossini: George Washington University; cum laude; Excellence in French

  • Mike Russ: St. John Fisher College; Charles G. Meehan Jr. Prize for male all-round athletic ability

  • Caroline Salisbury: Cornell University; cum laude; Excellence in English; Onderdonk Headmasters' Prize for service to the wider community beyond Saint James; Charles G. Meehan Jr. Prize for female all-round athletic ability; Trustees' Prize for Scholarship for the highest achievement in the Upper School maintained over a two-year period

  • Jenny Shenk: Eastern Mennonite University; Excellence in Philosophy and Religion; Onderdonk Headmasters' Prize for service to the wider community beyond Saint James

  • Sana Siddiqui: University of Maryland, College Park

  • Sean Smiley: University of Richmond

  • Austin St. George: St. Mary's College of Maryland; Simms A. Jamieson Prize for most improvement

  • Chen Han 'Danny' Tsai: California State University, Bakersfield

  • Henry Warner: Drew University; Bishop's Prize for contributing most to the long-range, long-term welfare of the school by either accomplishment or personal example

  • Matt Whitcraft: Frostburg State University; Donn Porter Prize for genuine courage and real devotion to the team above and beyond the call of duty; James F. Binau Sportsmanship Scholarship given by the Washington County Sports Hall of Fame to a senior who shows sportsmanship while leading by example; School Prize given by the Headmaster for extraordinary devotion to the school

  • Bethanne Wilson: Wofford College

  • Kali Worth: University of Maryland, Baltimore County

  • Michael Wright: Randolph-Macon College; Chaplain's Prize for best exemplifying the primary purpose of the school in training Christian gentlemen and ladies, as shown by quiet devotion of church life, courteous consideration of others and a high sense of personal integrity

  • Nick Yaraghi: University of Maryland, College Park; Farah Science Prize for outstanding achievement in Science; Excellence in Physics; Headmaster's Prize for exemplifying the qualities of a gentleman and a scholar

  • Taylor Young: Wittenberg University

The Herald-Mail Articles