Five county students named Byrd Honors Scholars

June 29, 2009

BALTIMORE - Five Washington County students were among the 143 Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholars named by the Maryland State Department of Education for 2009.

They are:

o Jill Helmstetter, Hancock Middle-Senior High School

o Steven Wolfe, Grace Academy

o Andrew Bitner, Boonsboro High School

o Christopher Bradford, North Hagerstown High School

o Bethany Garnand, Smithsburg High School

Each honoree receives a four-year scholarship worth up to $1,500 per year, to be used for undergraduate study at any institution of higher education based on cost of attendance.


The scholars were chosen from more than 600 nominees made by public and private high school principals, as well as from home-schooling entities, from across the state.

The scholarship awards, named for Sen. Robert C. Byrd of West Virginia. are designed to promote student excellence and achievement.

The program recognizes students who show promise of continued excellence as they pursue higher education.

Principals at public and private schools were invited to nominate students from the top 1 percent of their graduating classes for the award.

Qualifying GED and home-school graduates also are considered for the honor.

Scholars were named in all 24 public school systems, as well as at private schools.

The Herald-Mail Articles