Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: HeraldMail HomeCollectionsMso

Arts briefs

June 28, 2009

Award-winning actress performs



Totem Pole Playhouse welcomes Helen Hayes Award-winning actress Jenna Sokolowski to its Resident Acting Company for the 2009 Season.

She will perform the role of Deirdre McDavey alongside Ray Ficca in, "I Hate Hamlet," which opens Tuesday, June 30, and runs through Sunday, July 12.

For tickets and information visit www.TotemPolePlayhouse.org or call the box office at 717-352-2164.

MSO announces new season



The Maryland Symphony Orchestra's 2009-10 season theme is "Life Takes Music." The season begins on Saturday, Sept. 26, with a pops concert, "Three Broadway Divas," featuring Debbie Gravitte, Jan Horvath and Christiane Noll.

The first Masterworks Series concert is Saturday, Oct. 10, and Sunday, Oct. 11, featuring guest artist Elena Urioste.

The second Masterworks is Saturday, Nov. 14, and Sunday, Nov. 15, featuring the MSO's principal cellist, Lukasz Szyrner.

"Home for the Holidays," the MSO's annual holiday concert, is Saturday, Dec. 19, and Sunday, Dec. 20.

The MSO presents a concert of romantic music Saturday, Feb. 13, and Sunday, Feb. 14.

Advertisement

The MSO's family concert will be Sunday, March 7, Vivaldi's "Ring of Mystery."

Guest artist Thomas Pandolfi will perform Chopin's Piano Concerto No. 1 during the fourth Masterworks concert on Saturday March 20, and Sunday, March 21.

The season will conclude on Saturday, April 24, and Sunday, April 25, with Mahler's Symphony No. 5. Concertmaster Robert Martin will be the featured soloist in Beethoven's Romance No. 2 in F.

Masterworks concerts are at 8 p.m. Saturdays and at 3 p.m. Sundays.

Season subscriptions are on sale now and may be purchased by calling 301-797-4000 or in person at 30 W. Washington St., Hagerstown.

Office hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. For more information to www.marylandsymphony.org.

Single tickets for all concerts will be available online beginning Aug 15.

The Herald-Mail Articles
|
|
|