Advertisement

Changes greet new football season

June 22, 2009

In 53 days -- Aug. 15 to be exact -- prep football teams in Maryland will begin preseason practices for the 2009 campaign.

The Monocacy Valley Athletic League's Antietam Division will have an all-county look this season. North Hagerstown and South Hagerstown return to the Washington County-based league after a two-year stint in the Piedmont Division.

North and South will be joined by and compete against Smithsburg, Boonsboro and Williamsport.

Clear Spring steps out of the MVAL in football only for at least two years. Catoctin and Brunswick moved to the Piedmont Blue Division.

The season begins on Sept. 4 with North Hagerstown as the only school opening at home when the Hubs host Frederick.

Advertisement

Other season openers on Sept. 4 include: South Hagerstown at Berkeley Springs (W.Va), Smithsburg at Northern Garrett, Boonsboro at Owings Mills, Williamsport at North Carroll, Clear Spring at Manchester Valley and Hancock at Rappahannock County (Va.).

Saint James opens its season on Sept. 11 at Hancock.

The regular season concludes on Nov. 6 with annual rivalry games with South Hagerstown at North Hagerstown, Smithsburg at Boonsboro and Williamsport at Clear Spring.

Complete team-by-team schedules appear below.

-- Tim Koelble

2009 SCHEDULES

All Games begin at 7 p.m. unless noted

Schedules subject to change

NORTH HAGERSTOWN
Fri. Sept. 4 - Thomas Johnson
Fri. Sept. 11 - at Frederick
Thur. Sept. 17 - Loch Raven
Fri. Sept. 25 - at North East
Fri. Oct. 2 - Smithsburg
Fri. Oct. 9 - at Walkersville
Thur. Oct. 15 -at Middletown
Sat. Oct. 24 - at Williamsport, 2
Fri. Oct. 30 - Boonsboro
Fri. Nov. 6 - South Hagerstown

SOUTH HAGERSTOWN
Fri. Sept. 4 - at Berkeley Springs, 7:30
Fri. Sept. 11 - Urbana
Thur. Sept. 17 - Catoctin
Fri. Sept. 25 - at Smithsburg
Fri. Oct. 2 - Williamsport
Fri. Oct. 9 - at Middletown
Fri. Oct. 16 - Walkersville
Fri. Oct. 23 - at Boonsboro
Fri. Oct. 30 - Frederick
Fri. Nov. 6 -at North Hagerstown

SMITHSBURG
Fri. Sept. 4 - at Northern Garrett
Fri. Sept. 11 - Walkersville
Thur. Sept. 17 - South Carroll, 6
Fri. Sept. 25 - South Hagerstown
Fri. Oct. 2 - at North Hagerstown
Fri. Oct. 9 - Catoctin
Fri. Oct. 16 - at Brunswick
Sat. Oct. 24 - Clear Spring, 2
Fri. Oct. 30 - at Williamsport
Fri. Nov. 6 - at Boonsboro

BOONSBORO
Fri. Sept. 4 - at Owings Mills
Fri. Sept. 11 - South Carroll
Thur. Sept. 17 - at Middletown
Fri. Sept. 25 - at Catoctin
Fri. Oct. 2 - Brunswick
Fri. Oct. 9 - at Wlliamsport
Fri. Oct. 16 - Berkeley Springs
Fri. Oct. 23 - South Hagerstown
Fri. Oct. 30 - at North Hagerstown
Fri. Nov. 6 - Smithsburg

WILLIAMSPORT
Fri. Sept. 4 - at North Carroll
Fri. Sept. 11 - Northern Garrett
Thur. Sept. 17 - at Poolesville, 6:30
Fri. Sept. 25 - at Brunswick
Fri. Oct. 2 - at South Hagerstown
Fri. Oct. 9 - Boonsboro
Fri. Oct. 16 - at Catoctin
Sat. Oct. 24 - North Hagerstown, 2
Fri. Oct. 30 - Smithsburg
Fri. Nov. 6 - at Clear Spring

CLEAR SPRING
Fri. Sept. 4 - at Manchester Valley
Fri. Sept. 11 - East Hardy
Thur. Sept. 17 - Hancock
Fri. Sept. 25 - Clay Batelle
Fri. Oct. 2 - at Colonel Richardson
Fri. Oct. 9 - Rappahannock County
Fri. Oct. 16 - Bishop Walsh
Sat. Oct. 24 - at Smithsburg, 2
Sat. Oct. 31 - at Randolph-Macon Acad., 12
Fri. Nov. 6 - Williamsport

HANCOCK
Fri. Sept. 4 - at Rappahannock County
Fri. Sept. 11 - Saint James
Thur. Sept. 17 - at Clear Spring
Fri. Sept. 25 - Shade
Fri. Oct. 2 - Trinity
Fri. Oct. 9 - Randolph Macon Academy
Sat. Oct. 17 - Ferndale, 2
Sat. Oct. 24 - vs. Rockwood at Turkeyfoot, 1
Sat. Oct. 31 - at Bucktail, 2
Fri. Nov. 6 - Bishop Walsh

SAINT JAMES
Fri. Sept. 11 - at Hancock
Sat., Sept. 19 - at Bishop Walsh, 1:30
Sat. Sept. 26 - Randolph Macon Acad., 2:30
Sat. Oct. 3 - Potomac School, 2:30
Sat. Oct. 10 - at Maret, tba
Sat. Oct. 17 - Flint Hill, 2:30
Thur. Oct. 22 - at Md. School for Deaf, 6
Sat. Oct. 31 - vs. Sidwell Friends at Wilson, tba
Sat. Nov. 7 - Hyde School, 3:30

The Herald-Mail Articles
|
|
|